Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Disable Sub-Domain Log Files?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Jeff75, Aug 2, 2003.

  1. Jeff75

    Jeff75 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Is there anyway to disable log files from being created for sub-domains? I purchased a pack of licenses from Urchin and it counts each sub-domain as part of the 100 licenses so if four clients made 25 subdomains each, it would take up all 100 licenses I received from Urchin ($900).

    Is there anyway to do this? If not, I thought about running urchin in a directory where cPanel wouldn't pick it up but then I would need to somehow sync the urchin username/password with the accounts main login/password and associate the login with that domain's stats.

    It seems like it would be a lot easier if I could just disable the log files for sub-domains in the /usr/local/apache/domlogs directory.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. goodmove

    goodmove Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Couldn't you disable the subdomain logs by removing the CustomLog and BytesLog for the subdomains in httpd.conf?
     
  3. Jeff75

    Jeff75 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    I have to add a couple hundred accounts so it would take a long time to go into the httpd.conf and remove all of the entries. I'd also just like to not have to worry about going in and removing them each time a new account is created.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. goodmove

    goodmove Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Just a couple of quick ideas. The 1st issue could be handled with a perl string replace using regex (would only take a few seconds). The 2nd could be handled by modifying the subdomain setup script and removing the log lines from the script (if available for editing).

    I am not sure if there's an easier way to do this...
     
  5. Jeff75

    Jeff75 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Yeah, unfortunately cPanel set up support for Urchin assuming everyone who was using this was hosting at Rackshack who gives unlimited licenses. I will not use Rackshack and have to buy the license packs ($600/per 100) so it will get very expensive if the sub-domain logs were enabled.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice