Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Disable whm. subdomains but leave cpanel. subdomains in place

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by driverC, Mar 6, 2011.

  1. driverC

    driverC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    I am having a lot of trouble with Brute Force attacks against my servers. Worst of all WHM's brute force protection is locking root access not only via WHM but also via SSH leaving the sysadmin unable to access the server until the brute force database is resetting itself. (Of course from a security point of view this is a good thing)

    Now to prevent this from happening the WHM ports (2086/2087) have been restricted to our own IP addresses. However, hackers are using the whm. subdomains to circumvene the firewall block on 2086/2087.

    Disabling proxy subdomains altogether is not an option as many customers need their cpanel. and webmail. addresses. What we want to do is disable the whm. subdomains but leave the cpanel. and webmail. subdomains in place.

    Changing httpd.conf has only temporarily resolved the problem as WHM is undoing these changes.

    Is it possible to disable whm. subdomains while leaving cpanel. and webmail. subdomains in place ?

    If not, please consider this a feature request.
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,609
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    238
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. driverC

    driverC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Hi Tristan,

    thank you for your response...but wouldn't this only remove the DNS entries for the proxy subdomains ? Just asking because in this case a hacker could still access the subdomains by creating an entry in his computer's hosts file.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice