The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

disabled cpanel legacy backups but they are still saving locally

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by Venomous21, Jan 22, 2014.

  1. Venomous21

    Venomous21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    We normally save the legacy backups to a remote ftp location but are having a problem currently with this remote location. We do not have the space to save the backups locally and are currently making manual backups and saving them offsite while we resolve the remote ftp situation. Here's the problem. Under legacy backup configuration, I have selected to "disable" the backups on two different VPS and they are still saving locally on the normal backup schedule consuming a dangerous amount of hard drive space.. What's the best way to resolve this problem?

    Should I crontab -e and if so, remove which entries? Will this break anything when I do re-enable the remote ftp backups? I am running the latest release version of cpanel 11.40.1 build 9. I want to know the best way to resolve this bug since it's happening on two different servers.

    Thank you!
     
  2. Venomous21

    Venomous21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    hmm apparently when i disabled legacy backups, it enabled regular backups...a bit strange to say the least...will try disabling that as well and see if the problem is fixed.
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Disabling legacy backups will not automatically enable the new backup system. It's enabled via:

    "WHM Home » Backup » Backup Configuration"

    I recommend leaving the cron jobs in-place and disabling backups via the WHM interface.

    Thank you.
     
  4. Venomous21

    Venomous21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Edited: Think I got it figured out by using 'crontab -e', too tired to be posting this late! :)
     
    #4 Venomous21, Jan 23, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2014
  5. Venomous21

    Venomous21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Using the new backup system, only about half of our files transferred successfully via ftp, the rest stayed on the local server and we received the "backup destination <name> has been disabled on serverx" email. Normally, the ftp error messages were displayed in the "this backup has completed successfully" log email, however, they were no longer logged there and I found them under /usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup_transporter.log . I noticed several errors while transferring then cpanel gave up and disabled the remote ftp backup. The file that caused the transfer error is rather large so I'm going to see about excluding that from the next backup and copying it manually instead. Is there anyway to increase the maximum number of allowed errors before cpanel gives up on transferring the files to the remote ftp under the new backup system in WHM? I did not see any options under whm but don't mind editing a config file if that will fix it. Please, advise. Thank you!

    - - - Updated - - -

    Also, I have the two timeout values already set to the max value. The specific error message under cptransporter was:

    [cpbackup_transporter] Upload attempt failed: Transfer aborted. Input/output error
    at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/LoggerAdapter.pm line 26
    Cpanel::LoggerAdapter::warn(Cpanel::LoggerAdapter=HASH(asdfasdf), 'Upload attempt failed: Transfer aborted. Input/output error\x0A') called at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Backup/Queue.pm line 219

    [2014-01-23 02:50:19 -0500] warn [cpbackup_transporter] Upload attempt failed: Unknown Error at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/LoggerAdapter.pm line 26
    Cpanel::LoggerAdapter::warn(Cpanel::LoggerAdapter=HASH(asdfasdf), 'Upload attempt failed: Unknown Error') called at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Backup/Queue.pm line 219

    [2014-01-23 02:56:59 -0500] warn [cpbackup_transporter] Upload attempt failed: Can't use an undefined value as a symbol reference at /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/perl/514/lib64/perl5/cpanel_lib/Net/FTP/dataconn.pm line 54.
    at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/LoggerAdapter.pm line 26
    Cpanel::LoggerAdapter::warn(Cpanel::LoggerAdapter=HASH(asdfasdfasdf), 'Upload attempt failed: Can\'t use an undefined value as a symbol reference at /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/perl/514/lib64/perl5/cpanel_lib/Net/FTP/dataconn.pm line 54.\x0A') called at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Backup/Queue.pm line 219


    [2014-01-23 03:05:31 -0500] warn [cpbackup_transporter] Upload attempt failed: Opening BINARY mode data connection for /path to backup/website.tar.gz
    at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/LoggerAdapter.pm line 26

    This isn't the complete log but this shows the error messages. My guess this occurred because the file trying to be transferred is rather large at 10+gb. I'll exclude it from the next scheduled backup to see if that helps.

    I appreciate any advice or tips you can provide. Thank you!
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    I recommend attempting to resolve the errors reported in the logs you provided. In particular, this error:

    This seems like an issue with the remote FTP server. Do you have FTP logging enabled on the remote FTP server? If so, you may want to review the log on that server to see if there is any output that might indicate why the transfer failed.

    Thank you.
     
  7. Venomous21

    Venomous21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I'm going to contact the third party who runs the remote ftp server tomorrow. All the sites transferred tonight except 4 before the remote ftp server was disabled by cpanel for having too many errors. Strangely, a couple of the sites that caused the errors actually successfully transferred. I manually uploaded the rest of the sites to the remote ftp and after transferring one of the files, I was prompted to "overwrite it" even though the source and destination file were exactly the same file size in filezilla ftp. Maybe this is a permissions issue on the remote ftp? Not sure but will contact them.

    Is there anyway to increase the error threshold before cpanel disables the remote ftp and gives up? Think this would be very helpful.

    Also got a slightly different error in cpanel transport log tonight, Cpanel::LoggerAdapter::warn(Cpanel::LoggerAdapter=HASH(asdfasdf), 'Upload attempt failed: No storage allocation necessary\x0A') called at /usr/local/cpanel/Cpanel/Backup/Queue.pm line 219

    Is this a problem with the remote ftp? When transferring the remaining files manually, it worked.

    Thank you.
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    There is an internal case associated with remote backups to FileZilla FTP servers with a similar error to what you have reported. Does the remote FTP server utilize Filezilla by any chance? If so, let us know, and we can provide you with the case information.

    It's not possible to configure error thresholds for backups beyond increasing the timeout values. Note that in cPanel version 11.42, backup destinations that fail validation will no longer be disabled.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page