The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Disabled

Discussion in 'Security' started by PCZero, Feb 23, 2012.

  1. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Earth
    In hardening up my server I have done the following (among other things)...


    Disabled Password Authentication
    Disable root login to SSH
    Created a user FOO and set a password
    Created/Installed PublicKey for user FOO
    Added user FOO to the wheel group

    I can successfully SSH into the box as FOO and su - root now.

    The desired action that I cannot do is ftp into the box to the user FOO's home directory.


    I am not sure if I left out a step when creating FOO or neglected to grant access at a certain level (or if it is another DFU issue), but I had a similar set up ona box 5-6 years ago and I don't recall having to perform any other steps. How do I make it so that this user FOO can ftp in to his home dir?

    I know as soon as someone answers me I'll feel like a total flaming idiot... :)
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,451
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You added a user but not an actual account for him, correct?
     
  3. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Earth
    Yes. This was all done at shell. there is no account within cpanel/whm. The user does not need an account within cpanel as theer is no domain, etc associated. It is merely a raw user (for lack of better term) created specifically for SSH/su- and some minor not account specific file transfers.
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,451
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Was the /home/useraccount/ directory created?
     
  5. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Earth
    Yes it was. It contains the following...


    .bash_history
    .bash_logout
    .bash_profile
    .bashrc
    perl5/
    public_ftp/
    public_html/
     
  6. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Earth
    Drat he is gone now. Anyone else here who can shed light on what it is I am doing stupid?
     
  7. storminternet

    storminternet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It is better to create an account from WHM to avoid such problems as it will add necessary entries for an account where ever it is necessary.
     
  8. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Earth
    I don't NEED an account in WHM. This merely a user. It has no domain or anything else associated with it. I do appreciate the input, but that is not the right choice n this case. Having an WHM account set up with a dummy domain just so a user can log into FTP is not a viable alternative.
     
  9. PCZero

    PCZero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Earth
    I got it figured out. I needed to manually create /etc/proftpd/FOO. I am sure there is probably a script on the box that would do that for me, but I couldn't find it. I ended up making it manually. If anyone knows if there is a script/command to create the /etc/proftpd/FOO file please let me know what it is for future reference.
     
Loading...

Share This Page