The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Disabling Caching.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by worldwarme, Mar 30, 2007.

  1. worldwarme

    worldwarme Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm a noob to this stuff and I was wondering why it took so long to update my website after I uploaded them, and someone said to diable caching.

    How do I do this?

    Any help appriciated, thanks.
     
  2. brendanrtg

    brendanrtg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    1. What website?
    2. Referring to new domains?

    You have access to the server?

    Please be more specific so someone can better understand your problems.
     
  3. david510

    david510 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If you have updated the nameservers at the registrar, it would take 24 to 48 hours for the dns propagation.
     
  4. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It is standard procedure whenever editing any web site to clear your web browser
    cache immediately after uploading any new content and refresh the page.

    If you don't do that, then you yourself won't see the changes you made while
    the rest of the world can view the changes just fine without any problems!

    This is because your computer shows you a duplicate copy of the web site
    saved and stored on your own computer at home from a previous session
    instead of connecting to the actual real web site on the internet.

    When you clear your web browser cache, you force your web browser to
    connect to the real web site and show what is really there instead
    of using old saved data from your own computer.
     
    #4 Spiral, Mar 31, 2007
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2007
  5. kevinm

    kevinm Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    If your isp , or host , or a proxy you/your customers are using `affects` caching of results, when your page(s) change often (or you use dynamic content creation, like php ) then you may want to utilize mod_expires / or / and mod headers the set page expiry / headers so that the pages will not get cached.

    This will cause most good browsers to not cache pages aswell as most up-stream caches......

    However, this may cause additional bandwidth overheads.
     
    #5 kevinm, Mar 31, 2007
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2007
  6. DGermancp

    DGermancp Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    internet explorer has [CTRL] [F5] to force(?) refresh.
     
Loading...

Share This Page