Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Disabling local delivery, forcing the use of external DNS?

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussion' started by Remitur, Jul 6, 2018.

  1. Remitur

    Remitur Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ljubljana
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have an issue: I'm migrating a number of email services, and would like to do as follows:

    1 - I create the email service for anydomain.com on cpanel (in the meanwhile, email service for anydomain.com is running elsewhere, and anydomain.com is using external DNS servers, independent from my cpanel machine)

    2 - in cPanel I create every email address needed, and send a notification email to each one (with the new password) using cpanel

    3 - so the user receives in his email the message with the new password...

    4 ... and few days later I can switch DNS, my cpanel server begin to work for anydomain.com, and every user has yet new password

    My issue: in step 2, my server send this message in local delivery, so the user doesn't get it... :-(

    The question is: how can I configure cpanel in order to use the MX specified in the external, authoritative DNS, even if cpanel consider it a local domain?!?!
     
  2. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @Remitur

    You may want to try removing the domain from /etc/localdomains so that the server does not look internally for the domain.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    Remitur likes this.
  3. sparek-3

    sparek-3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,675
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    328
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    And add the domain to /etc/remotedomains so that it doesn't automatically get added back to /etc/localdomains
     
    Remitur and cPanelLauren like this.
  4. Remitur

    Remitur Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ljubljana
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Does exist any way to make it by default, without the need to to do so for every single domain?
     
  5. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice