The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Disaster Recovery

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by hostingmetro, Jun 10, 2004.

  1. hostingmetro

    hostingmetro Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi,

    The main hard drive crashed but we used the internal Cpanel backup system to backup to second hard drive.

    Here are the directories we see on the backup server:

    /cpbackup
    /cpbackup/daily
    /cpbackup/daily/dirs
    /cpbackup/daily/files
    /cpbackup/weekly
    /cpbackup/weekly/dirs
    /cpbackup/daily/files
    /cpbackup/monthly
    /cpbackup/monthy/dirs
    /cpbackup/monthly/files

    Under these directories, I see many username.tar.gz.

    Under "dirs", I see files/directories _etc_*, _usr_*, and _var_*

    Under "files", I see files/directories _etc_*, _root_*, and _usr_*


    I installed the same o/s and installed Cpanel with Fantastico.

    What do I need to do to fully restore all the old accounts with the original ip addresses, mysql databases, mailing lists, etc and also Fantastico apps?
     
  2. appcomm

    appcomm Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I've done a restore twice in the past from CPANEL backup files. It has worked for me by:

    1. Copying the username.tar.gz file that I want to restore to the /home directory.

    2. In WHM, under the Backups section, select "Restore Backups"

    3. ONLY if you have copied the username.tar.gz file(s) to the /home directory will you get a screen with options on it. If you haven't, WHM will error telling you it finds no backup files.

    4. When you select "Restore Backups", if I remember correctly, there is a box for you to type in the name of the user (site) you want to restore. From that point on, it was all pretty much automatic.

    On one occassion, I do remember that sites weren't coming up in the browser after the restore and it was a permissions error

    I've only experienced doing restores one site at a time....there is an option for restoring multiple backups, but I haven't ventured down that path.

    Hope that helps a little. Best of luck.

    :)
     
  3. hostingmetro

    hostingmetro Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks for response!
     
  4. Ben

    Ben Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have also restored a server from cPanel backups.

    In my case, leaving the files where they were on the /backup paritition worked just fine. I did the following

    WHM -> Restore Multiple Backups
    A new window should popup
    Daily (as it's the most current usually)
    Click the "Select Column" button on the 1st, 2nd, 4th, 5th, and 6th columns.

    *NOTE* It can sometimes take 5 or 10 minutes for the "Select Column" feature to work, at least it did on my end. Just be patient.

    Click the Start Restore button.

    At this point the restore should start. The only thing that didn't work for me was my /backup partitiion filled up around 2/3 of the way through. This will cause the restore to fail as the tar balls have nowhere to extract to. To prevent this either make sure you have a very large /backup partition or you can rm the tarballs in the weekly or monthly directories, if your restoring from daily. Note that you will of course lose all the data in those directories, but it shouldn't matter if you run the restore from the daily directory.
     
  5. hostingmetro

    hostingmetro Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi Ben,

    Thanks for your input. I assume it will restore Fantastico apps customers installed?
     
  6. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Yes, it should restore all their apps, including Fantastico.
     

Share This Page