The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Disk quota problem with users on Jailshell

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by cretu, Sep 22, 2003.

  1. cretu

    cretu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi There,

    Latelly, I am having problems with users reporting disk quota problem. I've run "find" on group and username to see what files they own - system returns only their /home/ files and files from under /virtfs/.

    When checking quota with "du -cm" for a user in this home directry - return 172 MB, however system sees this as a double number almost 323 Meg.

    Theare no other files owninig by this user. In matter of fact, this happen to two accounts on the same box that had their JailShell anabled.

    Please Help.

    Cretu

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. masood

    masood Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Having same problem here. Anyone? :)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. Curious Too

    Curious Too Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I submitted a ticket regarding this matter a couple of days ago. Someone from cPanel did login to the server but has not been able to fix the problem yet.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number: 24404
     
    #3 Curious Too, Sep 26, 2003
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2003
  4. cretu

    cretu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey,

    Let me us know once you receive feedback on your ticket. I am running off ideas and my clients are wondering why cPanel reports so high.

    Cretu

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. isputra

    isputra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mbelitar
    Yes, please give us information about that

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. desario

    desario Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Does this quota problem have anything to do with the fact that a hard link is used to hook up /home/virtfs/username/home/username to /home/username ?

    PS. I'm also experiencing the same problem.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. wreak

    wreak Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    IMHO
    May be the problem is in the /etc/fstab file.
    Dublicated refer in fstab to quota.user, quota.group files.
    repquota uses it twice....
     
  8. EWD

    EWD Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NY
    Anyone have a fix for this??

    I am having the same problem.
    User has 190 MB but CP shows 385 MB.


    Please Help!!!!
     
  9. EWD

    EWD Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NY
    And I just noticed.... this user has shell disabled so I don't hink this problem has anything to do with shell/jailshell
     
  10. wreak

    wreak Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Show to us

    repquota -a | grep <username>

    output .

    This double space quota is only for one user ?
    Or for other too ?
     
  11. comprock

    comprock Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    jailshell & quota

    I had a new 100meg account setup and quota showed 113MB used before I even used it. After some searching, I found this forum and ran through the following commands and it brought that nasty 113MB down to the correct 7MB.

    # repquota -a
    # /scripts/fixquotas
    # repquota -a

    I'm not sure why my running fixquotas earlier didn't fix it, but combining reqpquota with fixquotas seems to have done the trick.

    I have fixquotas as a daily cron, but that hadn't ran yet for the day.

    root@peachy [/peachy]# cat /etc/cron.daily/fixquotas
    #!/bin/sh

    # Update quotas
    #
    # @author Michael Cannon <michael@cannonbose.com>
    # @version $Id:$

    /scripts/fixquotas
    root@peachy [/peachy]#

    Don't forget 'chmod 755 fixquotas' if using the above in your cron.daily.

    Cheers,

    Michael
     
Loading...

Share This Page