The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

disk space reached to 100%.

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by imran_khan, Nov 14, 2013.

  1. imran_khan

    imran_khan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I am taking daily backup of WHM/Cpanel on remote backup storage.
    I have created /newbackup directory on WHM server and mapped/mounted remote backup storage on this directory.

    Today I have observed that, my remote storage is not accessible before backup schedule time but daily backup is generated/completed successfully on local drive /newbackup directory and then disk space reached to 100%. Why this happened, If I configured WHM backup on remote storage so why daily backup done on local drive (/newbackup)? Please help me.


    Thanks,
    Imran Khan.
     
  2. ravi9

    ravi9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Navigate to,
    WHM Home >> Backup >> Backup Configuration

    And make sure Retain backups in the default backup directory option is not checked.
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Is this a NFS mount? If so, try enabling the following option in "WHM Home » Backup » Backup Configuration":

    "Mount Backup Drive as Needed."

    Thank you.
     
  4. imran_khan

    imran_khan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Backup option is showing disable in Home » Backup » Backup Configuration but it is enable in cron job.

    0 1 * * * /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/cpbackup
    0 2 * * * /usr/local/cpanel/bin/backup

    When my remote storage is down then backup will not happen so why the backup generated on local partition when remote storage is not accessible?

    Thanks,
    Imran Khan.
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The existence of the cron job does not indicate that backups are either enabled or disabled. The backup scripts check to see if backups are enabled, and then proceed to backup the accounts if they are. You mentioned that backups do not occur when your NFS mount is down, yet also are asking why backups are generated locally when it's down. Could you clarify?

    Thank you.
     
  6. imran_khan

    imran_khan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Michael,

    Thanks.

    I have configured the daily backup of cpanel on NFS mount point not on server’s local partition but 3 days back, daily backup generated on local partition instead of NFS mount point when my NFS mount point was down. Why this happened?

    I hope you understand my question.

    Thanks,
    Imran Khan.
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  8. imran_khan

    imran_khan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    backup.png Hello Michael,

    Mentioned option is not showing in the WHM. Please check the attached file. My WHM/cPanel version is 11.38.2 (build 12)

    Thanks,
    Imran Khan.
     
    #8 imran_khan, Nov 19, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2013
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  10. imran_khan

    imran_khan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2013
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    My WHM/cPanel version is 11.38.2 (build 12)
     
  11. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This indicates you are using the following option:

    "WHM Home » Backup » Legacy Backup Configuration"

    Please keep in mind that this is separate from the configuration for the new backup system at:

    "WHM Home » Backup » Backup Configuration"

    Have you considered disabling legacy backups and considering the use of the new backup system?

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page