The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Disk Space Used Problem

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by HostingScene, Feb 2, 2004.

  1. HostingScene

    HostingScene Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    I noticed that the disk space displayed on the cpanel user account home page is incorrect. For instance, a client of mine said that his states that he is using over 98MB of disk space and I checked 'Disk Usage' and he is using just over 22MB with database space usages added in. This account was just created with PHP-Nuke freshly installed and upgraded and nothing else done to that account. I looked at my cPanel account and noticed the same problem with incorrect disk usage reading. Does anyone know how I can fix this problem?

    Thanks!
     
  2. andyf

    andyf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    Do you have a backup drive, and if you do, do you have quotas enabled on the backup drive?

    It sounds as if you've got files owned by that UID somewhere else on the system.

    the quota command should help you see on what partition they are... unless you're a RS customer ;)
     
  3. HostingScene

    HostingScene Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes, I have an offsite backup drive. I used the quota command on my client's account and nothing is coming off the backup drive. Just the primary server drive.
     
  4. andyf

    andyf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    Can you narrow it down to what partition the data is on? Then you can use the find command to locate the files
     
  5. HostingScene

    HostingScene Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It's on /dev/hda3. Where would I look besides /home/username for the files?
     
  6. andyf

    andyf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    where is /dev/hda3 mounted?

    use 'mount'
     
  7. HostingScene

    HostingScene Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    /dev/hda3 on /
     
  8. HostingScene

    HostingScene Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Does anyone have a single clue as to what the heck is going on???
     
  9. andyf

    andyf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    In which case (assuming you dont have a separate /tmp partition) you should check for temporary files in the /tmp /var/tmp and also root partitions which are owned by the user in question.
     
  10. HostingScene

    HostingScene Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok, I checked all those locations and found nothing...
     
  11. andyf

    andyf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    rebuil quotas (/etc/fixquotas) ?

    I suggest you have your NOC looked into this.
     
  12. HostingScene

    HostingScene Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I tried the fixquotas many times, but to no avail. I guess that I'll have the techs look into this.
     
  13. andyf

    andyf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    There's probably files on the system somewhere which are owned by the same UID as this account. Possibly from a previous account which used the same UID but was terminated and left some files behind.
     
  14. sherby

    sherby Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Argentina
    I have the same problem, the used space increases single
     
  15. tkoweb

    tkoweb Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    To the users having this problem.. Is it only happening on one account or on all of them? I have over 120 accounts all showing disk usage (according to quotas) WAY over what they're really using. It's calculating something like 300-500% or more of the real size. Anyone have a fix?
     
  16. sherby

    sherby Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Argentina
  17. Tripster

    Tripster Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    If you are finding all accounts overquota, check /etc/passwd and /etc/shadow for double entry of users. If they are entered twice I don't know what the fix is, last box I had with this problem was basically screwed by it.
     
Loading...

Share This Page