The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

disk space used

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by anish sidhan, Dec 29, 2003.

  1. anish sidhan

    anish sidhan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello,

    One of the accounts is showing disk space used as

    Disk usage 36.05 Megabytes
    SQL Disk usage 0.00 Megabytes
    Disk space available 33.95 Megabytes

    But when I checked the disk usage link in cpanel not even a single one is using more than 1mb.




    Directory Space Used
    mail/bymarnie.com 0.98 Meg
    tmp/webalizer 0.95 Meg
    tmp/analog 0.83 Meg
    public_html/_vti_cnf 0.29 Meg
    mail/beads 0.26 Meg


    I ran the scripts initquotas and fixquotasand fixeverything. But the issue is still not fixed. Any help on this matter would be greatful. Thanks in advance.

    --Anish
     
  2. jphilipson

    jphilipson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    maybe the weblogs or something that is not in the users homedir?
     
  3. denvercg

    denvercg Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,
    All my accounts are showing the following:
    Disk Usage 0.00 MB
    Disk space available Unlimited MB

    The accounts are using disk space and they do not have Unlimited space setup.

    I use Cpanel 8.5.3-R2
    Redhat 7.3
    Could someone help me with this problem?
    Thank you
     
  4. dianaward

    dianaward Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I had the same problem and did the same as anish,

    with the same result. Then I ran /scripts/fixquotas again in frustration, and it fixed them. Go figure....
     
  5. jphilipson

    jphilipson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    sometime you have to run /scripts/fixquotas 3 or so times before it will take effect... not sure why, but thats how it goes with cpanel sometimes lol
     
  6. denvercg

    denvercg Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It works!

    Hello Everyone,
    Thank you for your replies. I have executed the command and it does work fine. If I change the quota again in cpanel whm, it still does not update to the new quota. I have to ssh and run fisquotas for it to update again.
    Thank you.
    Happy New Year Everyone!!
     
  7. anish sidhan

    anish sidhan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Quota

    Hello,

    This was not the issue that can be solved running scripts (quotas).

    quota shows more space being used than is in their home directory, chances are
    there are stray files on the system owned by their UID. To find these files,
    run the following as root:

    find / -user username -ls


    There were a lot of files with the ownership of harley in the server ( almost
    30 mb ). This was the reason why the disk usage was high eventhough the home
    diectory was taking only 10mb of space. I just changed the ownership to root
    and the issue was solved.

    Now a lot of space is free:

    Disk usage 10.02 Megabytes
    SQL Disk usage 0.00 Megabytes
    Disk space available 59.98 Megabytes


    Happy New Year!!!!!!!!!!!
    --Anish
     
  8. dianaward

    dianaward Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I found the same with one of my resellers' accounts,

    there were a number of large files in the home directory that had somehow been created when another website was copied to this server via WHM. Why and how they were even created, much less set to this reseller's ownership, especially since the new site was assigned to a different reseller, I have no idea.
     
Loading...

Share This Page