Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Disk Usage Question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by billzant, Jul 24, 2018.

  1. billzant

    billzant Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Trat, Thailand
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Twitter:
    Dear cPanel forum,


    I have a website (domain name - removed -) which uses cPanel. For a number of years I have purchased web-hosting and domain name from this company, and thought everything was fine. We had a coming together recently in which I discovered that I have annoyed them because of my lack of cPanel management. In truth I did not know I had to do anything with cPanel so it is not surprising.


    I have a user name and password that enables me to access cPanel. I wanted to show you what I get but cannot show screen clips. However at the bottom left-hand corner it says CPanel 72.0.10.

    I started reading The cPanel Interface - Version 68 Documentation - cPanel Documentation


    but this is for version 68 and I have 72 (apparently).

    I don’t want to do much – just not annoy the people hosting me. This means I must control disk usage. I have no idea how much webspace I am using.


    I have some idea about email. I have 4 accounts, I now check each account monthly and it seems OK.


    I looked at Tutorial - cP100: Getting Started with cPanel and became even more confused.


    I think all that interests me is the section "What is cPanel?" making changes to a hosting account. I think - Removed - is a hosting account. I think that all I am interested in is changing my hosting account, and want information about this.

    I am not in business, have a website for my writing, and use - Removed - for my email. I wanted cheap and minimal involvement, but did not wish to cause offence. Sadly I have done that. I am seeking help. Sorry for the long introductory letter.


    Bill Z (- Removed -)
     
    #1 billzant, Jul 24, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 24, 2018
  2. vanessa

    vanessa Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    834
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Your post is a little vague about what you're actually trying to accomplish. What specifically is your host asking you to do? Decrease your disk space?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. billzant

    billzant Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Trat, Thailand
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Twitter:
    Hi Vanessa,

    Thanks for your reply.

    I apologise for the vagueness. A bit more history. Previously I have not attempted to manage my account. I have uploaded files to the website, and apparently gone way over the webspace I have paid for. They allowed me to go over the limit without telling me - kind of them. Email just grew and grew as well. Then we had a pleasant email confrontation, and they have told me to manage my space. That is all I have been asked.

    I have two things that use space - my website and my email. I think I am managing the email because I enter cPanel go to email/ email accounts, and can access my 4 email accounts. By trial and error have sorted out how to keep the numbers down. I would like to know the best way of doing this, I use Outlook for reading email.

    I do not know how much space my website is using, and I don't know how to find out. When I read the documentation for 68 it says click "disk usage", with 72 I cannot find this.

    Does this help?

    Thanks again for your reply.

    Bill Z
     
  4. quarterstaff

    quarterstaff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,472
    Likes Received:
    421
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. billzant

    billzant Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Trat, Thailand
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Twitter:
    Quarterstaff/infopro,

    Both links help.

    "(cPanel >> Home >> Files >> Disk Usage)"

    When I login, the files section does not contain "Disk Usage".

    filescap.PNG


    Am I doing something wrong?

    Bill Z
     
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,472
    Likes Received:
    421
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    From the screenshot, I'd have to guess you're using an out of date cPanel style.

    In the top right corner, where your cPanel username is displayed, on that menu do you have an option to Change Style?

    Here's that same section on one of my servers that you should be seeing.

    cPfilessectn.png
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. billzant

    billzant Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Trat, Thailand
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Twitter:
    Infopro,

    I have tried different styles but it dies not alter the name of the icons.

    I note that instead of disk usage I have web disk. When I click on web disk it shows this

    webdisk.PNG

    I have downloaded a script, run it and have a desktop item that enables me to see file manager from the desktop. Unfortunately I don't understand most of what I see. the icon in network doesn't work. It does not give me disk usage.

    Any other suggestions?

    Thanks for your help


    Bill Z
     
  9. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,472
    Likes Received:
    421
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #9 Infopro, Jul 25, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2018
  10. billzant

    billzant Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Trat, Thailand
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Twitter:
    Dear Infopro,

    Good on you.

    I have seen what you are saying about the feature list.

    As you can see from my first post my relationship with the provider is taut. I am sure they would try to do it if asked, but ... While I was in the middle of this thread I discovered another way of determining the size of my site - other than from my backup on disc. If I type my site name and then /config, I get the figures I wanted.

    Would you be prepared to help me with this?

    "I think I am managing the email because I enter cPanel go to email/ email accounts, and can access my 4 email accounts. By trial and error have sorted out how to keep the numbers down. I would like to know the best way of doing this, I use Outlook for reading email." Is there a way of automating this process?

    Thanks for your help.

    Bill Z
     
  11. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,472
    Likes Received:
    421
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I'm not sure what that is, it's not a cPanel tool.

    Doing what exactly? Automate cleaning out your inbox?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. billzant

    billzant Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Trat, Thailand
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Twitter:
    Dear Infopro,

    How are you?


    DirectAdmin - I assumed that was part of cPanel, sorry.

    Email - I describe what I do. Email accounts. I look at the usage. Access the webmail select all the emails in the inbox and delete. I have previously read and sorted the emails in Outlook. I hope to automate this so I don't have to keep checking. Is that what the internet settings on delivery is for in Outlook:-

    Capture.PNG

    Thanks again for your help.

    Bill Z
     
  13. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,472
    Likes Received:
    421
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I'm good. It's Friday! :)


    I prefer IMAP, but if you're using POP3, uncheck that "leave a copy of messages on server" option and you'll always download off the server and keep space freed up.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice