The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Disk Usage Reporting

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by nanabite, Feb 19, 2004.

  1. nanabite

    nanabite Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    One of my clients is complaining that "disk usage" section of his cPanel displays he uses 45MB but on the home page of cPanel it says he uses 104MB. He says that the 45MB is the correct amount and I cannot find where the other 60MB is coming from - does anyone have any ideas?
     
  2. Curious Too

    Curious Too Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Does your customer use jail shell? I noticed that an old bug that doubled the disk useage for users who access their sites via jail shell has returned.
     
  3. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Don't go with him, do a

    du -sh

    in shell under customers user home directory and find out the actual.

    And if its not the jail shell thing mentioned by Curious Too, you might wanna check your disk quotas.
     
  4. nanabite

    nanabite Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    The "disk usage" section shows the correct amount. Jailshell IS enabled on these user's accounts so I can only assume it is this which is causing the problem.
     
  5. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Curious Too already said that. i guess now you know where the extra disk space is being used.
     
  6. StevenC

    StevenC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2004
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    try

    /fix/quotas
     
  7. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    /fix/quotas ?

    I believe nanabite already found the reason for the disk usage reporting probs. Its because of the jail shell thats all.
     
  8. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Or do your rather mean /scripts/fixquotas ? ;)
     
  9. StevenC

    StevenC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2004
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yeah
     
Loading...

Share This Page