The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS Cluster - how quickly are updates "propogated" between servers?

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by electric, Aug 30, 2006.

  1. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    We have two servers that are set up in a DNS Cluster.

    server1 is set to Synchonize
    server2 is set to Stand Alone

    (We want all changes made on server2 to be sent to server 1.)

    My question is:

    How long does it take for changes made on server2 to be "sent" to server1? Is it instant? Or does it take a few minutes? Or do we need to click the "Synchronize DNS Records" link in the WHM and force it manually?

    Thanks!
     
  2. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    If I set server1 to Standalone and server2 to Synchronize... it does not work.

    It also does not work if I reverse them.

    The only time DNS records are updated on the remote server is if I put them both to Synchronize.

    Knowing cpanel, I'm going to presume this is a bug. :rolleyes:
     
  3. Evasion

    Evasion Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Athens - Greece
    I have a dns cluster with two servers and both servers are configured to synchronize.

    Servers are synchronized at the blink of an eye !!!

    Notice that my servers ar on the same datacenter.
     
  4. rhenderson

    rhenderson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    Ditto mine too and in different DC's
     
  5. mohit

    mohit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sticky On Internet
    hi,
    is is possible to synchronize only a single domain, or a single Reseller a/c,
    i've a imp. site and which needs to have a backup location to run from if one server is down.

    any ideas ?

    see ya,
    mohit
     
  6. rhenderson

    rhenderson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You are getting more into a fallover thing here. The DNS backup only helps if the DNS is down on one server, but doesn't provide fallover service. SOme people suggest round robin, in all my research it appears to split the loads so that 50% goes to one server and 50% to the other. Which again is not a true fallover service. I have not done it but have investigated it and if I remember right you had to set up a server that would ping each server that you have copies of the site and directt he traffic to whichever server was up.
     
  7. mohit

    mohit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sticky On Internet
    hi,
    sorry about my limited knowledge on this, but can a DNS backup be setup for a single a/c or for one reseller a/c only.

    i hope it will maintain the copy of content from server1.

    see ya,
    mohit
     
Loading...

Share This Page