DNS Cluster howto delete account but keep zone on DNS servers

hostvn

Member
PartnerNOC
Oct 1, 2007
15
0
51
Ha Noi, Viet Nam
Hi everyone,

I have issue with DNS Cluster. I have 2 DNS servers and keep Standard Alone. I have over 10 shared hosting servers with Sync Changes. Some customers have same domain account on 2 or 3 servers. I have a question:
- How can i delete an account on one server with dont keep DNS Zone, but will not delete from DNS servers ? because if DNS zones removed on DNS servers, that account with active website (on other server) will lost all DNS Zones and DOWN.

I hope you can give me an advise.

Thks and Best regards,
Minh Tran
 

cPanelDon

cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
Staff member
Nov 5, 2008
2,545
12
268
Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
cPanel Access Level
DataCenter Provider
Twitter
delete the account checking the keep DNS box
I recommend using WHM as the safest method while ensuring to tick the "keep DNS" check-box as described by dalem. This may be accomplished via the following menu path in WHM; also included below is a link to the respective documentation article for each area:
WHM: Main >> Account Functions >> Terminate an Account

/scripts/killacct <user> no
Using SSH access is another option as indicated by vanessa; the yes "y" or no "n" is the specified value for a "killdns" option as the second argument (after the username) when using the command-line script "killacct" in the directory "/scripts/".