The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS Cluster Issue

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by GOT, May 30, 2008.

  1. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I have a client with a DNS Cluster. Two cpanel servers and two VPS's handing DNS. One of the DNS servers is getting updates fine, the other one a bit ago stopped getting updates. We corrected this problem, and now zone files are getting synched properly, however, the necessary entries for the zones are not being added to the named.conf.

    No amount of synching the zones is gettng teh named.conf entries added.

    Any way to force this or recreate the named.conf? or is there potentially still something broken?

    Thanks

    Jon
     
  2. rhenderson

    rhenderson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I recently read something similar to this on this forum, can't remember if it was exactly what your are describing but it helped me.

    Anyway the fix was to run /scripts/fixnamedviews on the DNS only server

    You might just do a search on fixnamedviews to see if it the same issue you have.
     
  3. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Thanks for that, but that did not resolve it.

    Jon
     
  4. rhenderson

    rhenderson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I just know I ran into this on one of our backup DNS servers..... Thats why this is killing me.

    About a month ago I started putting all my fixes in a Staff Only Knowledge base so I could remember them. :D

    Anyway, the other issue I am thinking about seemed like it was a permission or ownership (chown or chmod) problem with named.conf. I would have bet money we ran a cPanel script to fix it.... about the only one left that makes sense is /scripts/fixbuggynamed

    Hopefully someone else here can chime in that has a better memory than me.
     
  5. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Actually, I completely forgot about /scripts/rebuildnamedconf. This seems to have done the trick. Hopefully now that the synching is working again, this issue is laid to rest.

    Thanks for prompting me to look around the scripts folder and jog an old memory.

    Jon
     
  6. rhenderson

    rhenderson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  7. ArbuZz

    ArbuZz Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello, people!

    I had the same issue and /scripts/rebuildnamedconf has helped me. Thank you. But. Will I have to run this script on regular basis, every time I add new zone, etc. ?
     
    #7 ArbuZz, Jul 4, 2008
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2008
Loading...

Share This Page