The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS cluster not resolving

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Xisco, Sep 4, 2008.

  1. Xisco

    Xisco Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello.

    I'm sorry if this question has been posted before... I didn't found it.

    We have two servers in DNS clustered mode, both with WHM 11.23.2 cPanel 11.23.6-R26881 and properly configured (I think).

    - One synchronizes DNS to the other in both directions and DNS zones can be edited on the two servers.
    - Server one and server two are configured in whois and DNS entries to be the NS servers for these zones.

    But...

    When one server is asked for NS info for a domain hosted in the other you only get an empty response, only with DNS ROOT servers.

    ie:

    ; <<>> DiG 9.3.4 <<>> xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
    ; (1 server found)
    ;; global options: printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 891
    ;; flags: qr rd; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 13, ADDITIONAL: 0

    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx. IN A

    ;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    . 518400 IN NS E.ROOT-SERVERS.net.
    . 518400 IN NS F.ROOT-SERVERS.net.
    . 518400 IN NS G.ROOT-SERVERS.net.
    . 518400 IN NS H.ROOT-SERVERS.net.
    . 518400 IN NS I.ROOT-SERVERS.net.
    . 518400 IN NS J.ROOT-SERVERS.net.
    . 518400 IN NS K.ROOT-SERVERS.net.
    . 518400 IN NS L.ROOT-SERVERS.net.
    . 518400 IN NS M.ROOT-SERVERS.net.
    . 518400 IN NS A.ROOT-SERVERS.net.
    . 518400 IN NS B.ROOT-SERVERS.net.
    . 518400 IN NS C.ROOT-SERVERS.net.
    . 518400 IN NS D.ROOT-SERVERS.net.

    ;; Query time: 641 msec
    ;; SERVER: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
    ;; WHEN: Thu Sep 4 09:19:42 2008
    ;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 238

    How can I configure both servers to correctly answer for all the zones?

    Thank you,
    Xisco.
     
  2. Xisco

    Xisco Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi, yolau.

    Both are configured as "Synchronize Changes" and synchronize all zones each other. Both servers have the information of all zones but each server only answers for that zones hosted on it.
     
  3. yolau

    yolau Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Make sure that you configured both as "Synchronize Changes"
     
  4. miahac

    miahac Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    same thing

    I have the same problem. I only have one domain set up on the cpanel so far.

    The domain appears to sync to the clusters because it shows up in the /var/named/domain.com.db of the nameservers, but does not show in /var/log/messages as reloading when named is restarted.

    When queried, it answers non-authoritative

    All servers are set to synchronize.

    there is no zone listed in the named.conf nor is there ref to an include file that contains the zone
     
    #4 miahac, Sep 17, 2008
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2008
  5. miahac

    miahac Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I added the following to /etc/named.conf after // BEGIN external zone entries. This is is the main server domain so hopefully this is fixed with customer domains.


    zone "domain.com" {
    type master;
    file "/var/named/domain.com.db";
    };
     
Loading...

Share This Page