Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

DNS cluster Setup advice

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by DjordjeB, Feb 13, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Gojko

    Gojko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Macedonia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello, i have question about this subject.

    Server1 hostname s1.domain.com 1.1.1.1
    nameservers for server:
    ns1.domain.com 1.1.1.1
    Ns2.domain.com 1.1.1.1

    Server2 hostname s2.domain.com 2.2.2.2
    nameservers for server2
    ns3.domain.com 2.2.2.2
    ns4.domain.com 2.2.2.2

    that was production dedicated servers

    i have 2 VPS
    vps1 cpanel installed hostname host.domain.com 3.3.3.3
    host1.domain.com 3.3.3.3.
    host2.domain.com 3.3.3.3.

    and i have for vps2 just installed dns only i need to setup dns clustering

    so what i want:
    to have nameservers for ALL domains on all servers (example ns10 and ns11 because is not used yet)

    i understand that i need two 2vps for that ( i have two, one dnsonly and second with cpanel webserver)
    all cpanels are installed with bing and i need to setup dnsonly with bing also and what nameservers need to type into dnsonly?

    Second question is
    how i can setup ns10 and ns11 for nameservers for all my servers?

    vps1 (dnsonly) standalone?
    vps2 (websererver) standalone too or sync?

    server and server 2 are sync right?

    and where i need to add dns cluster server on vps1 and vps2?
     
    #1 Gojko, Feb 13, 2018
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2018
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,806
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Gojko

    Gojko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Macedonia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you for replay. But that document is not good written like other(for my limited knowledge) so i can't understand what i need to do for my problem.
    Simple question what how i need to setup this two VPS (one of them is dnsonly) to have TWO nameservers for all domains on all servers?
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,806
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    You can setup the first cPanel DNS-Only server and then configure your hosting servers to synchronize changes to it (using "WHM >> DNS Cluster"). This is the "Direct Links" example from the document noted in my last response. EX:

    webserver1 >sync changes> dnsonly1
    webserver2 >sync changes> dnsonly1
    webserver3 >sync changes> dnsonly1

    Then, do the exact same thing for the second DNS-Only server:

    webserver1 >sync changes> dnsonly2
    webserver2 >sync changes> dnsonly2
    webserver3 >sync changes> dnsonly2

    In each of the hosting servers, browse to "WHM >> Basic WebHost Manager Setup" and ensure the name servers are set to the hostnames of your preference. The name servers don't have to match the hostnames of the DNS-Only servers. You just have to make sure that whatever name servers you use are associated with the IP addresses of the DNS-Only servers. We document how to setup name servers at the domain registrar here:

    How to Set Up Nameservers in a cPanel Environment - cPanel Knowledge Base - cPanel Documentation

    Also, you mentioned the possibility of using a hosting server in lieu of a second DNS-Only server. This is not recommended, as this type of configuration may cause DNS errors on your servers. Instead, you should simply use two cPanel DNS-Only servers (or just a single DNS-Only server with two IP addresses).

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    DjordjeB likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice