Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

DNS Cluster setup question

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by Srikanth79, Dec 30, 2015.

  1. Srikanth79

    Srikanth79 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am setting up a DNS cluster :

    primarynameserver.domain.com
    secondarynameserver.domain.com
    host.domain.com (main server)

    In primarynameserver.domain.com server, will i have to setup 2 nameservers like ns1.domain.com / ns2.domain.com and ns3.domain.com / ns4.domain.com or can i have ns1.domain.com at primarynameserver.domain.com and ns2.domain in secondarynameserver.domain.com ?

    Thanks.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,367
    Likes Received:
    1,855
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Yes, this is the typical configuration, and you should set the hostname for these servers as the name server name (e.g. ns1.server.com). There's a useful guide to follow at:

    Guide to DNS Cluster Configurations - cPanel Knowledge Base - cPanel Documentation

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Srikanth79

    Srikanth79 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is it required to use the name server name as hostname? If not required, what are the advantages?
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,367
    Likes Received:
    1,855
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's not required, but it makes it easier to recognize which server controls which name server when configuring your cluster.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Srikanth79

    Srikanth79 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    One of the vps i purchased to use as a nameerver came only with 1 ip, Is it okay to assign same ip to both nameserver1 and nameserver2 on that vps?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,367
    Likes Received:
    1,855
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, it's acceptable to use the same IP address for multiple name servers on the same server.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice