The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS Cluster setup questions

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by CBG, Jun 4, 2016.

Tags:
  1. CBG

    CBG Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I have just finished setup 3 DNS Only servers and would like to make sure I am doing the next bit right.
    1. Login to WHM on the web server and add the 3 DNS Only servers into the cluster.
    2. Sync DNS Zones to all servers.
    3. Turn off Bind on web server.
    Is that correct?


    I do have 2 questions
    1. Do I need to add the web server on each of the DNS Only servers, in the cluster as Standalone?
    2. Do I need to add each DNS Only server on each of the other DNS Only servers, as Standalone?
     
  2. twhiting9275

    twhiting9275 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,
    You don't need to add each DNSonly server to the other. That's redundancy, but not needed
    As far as adding DNSonly into the clusters, I always use sync changes, but standalone should work, yes
     
    CBG likes this.
  3. sjwrick

    sjwrick Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Why turn ff bind on the web server?

    My understanding is the cPanel web server actually tracks changes to the DNS entries for the domains you host. The cluster allows you to notify the master servers (the ones listed at the registrar) what the correct/current record is.

    I would expect you need to keep bind running for the web server to notify the 3 master servers.

    From the perspective of the web server - I "write only" to the masters. I don't want the masters writing back to the web server all the other domains they answer for.

    Webserver
    ↳ Master 1 (write only)
    ↳ Master 2 (write only)
    ↳ Master 3 (write only)

    My reverse relationship from a Master to my web server is "stand alone".

    Master 1
    ↳ Webserver (Stand alone)

    Please correct me if I am wrong.
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
  4. CBG

    CBG Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    As I am still in the testing phase before I launch.
    I have set it up as followed

    Web Server
    ↳ DNS Only 1 (Synchronize Changes)
    ↳ DNS Only 2 (Synchronize Changes)
    ↳ DNS Only 3 (Synchronize Changes)

    DNS Only 1-3
    ↳ Web Server (Standalone)
    ↳ DNS Only 1-3 (Standalone)

    Then I disabled Nameservers (Bind) on the Web Server, created a test account and it as added to all DNS Only servers, DNS seems to be running ok, but it only a test account on.
     
  5. twhiting9275

    twhiting9275 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You do not need bind (or any nameserver) running on the master server , no.
    The cPanel service will automatically update the appropriate cluster server as needed, when changes are made
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page