The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS clustering help...

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by darkshadow604, Jun 21, 2007.

  1. darkshadow604

    darkshadow604 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    I run and operate a free host, and will require the usage of multiple servers but with the same domain for subdomains.

    If I do DNS clustering, can all servers use the same subdomain? And what way should I do it?

    Thanks in advance,
    Otto
     
  2. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Use the same subdomain? Do you mean load balancing?


    Anyway, dns clustering will share dns records across all servers in the cluster and or however you decide to sync the records with each server.

    This makes moving accounts very easy with little downtime.

    For your situation, you could simply have your main domain on one server and distribute subdomains to other servers in the cluster and they will find the location just fine by sharing dns records.

    You would need to create an cpanel account for each sub domain that is not on the parent domain server in order to manage its files, zone and features.
     
  3. darkshadow604

    darkshadow604 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok, just to clarify, I'm not using load balancing. I just want all the servers to use a domain to make subdomains.

    For example, domain.com are on nameservers ns1.domain.com, ns2.domain.com.

    Server 1 can use it to make an account with subdomain: 1.domain.com

    Server 2 can also make an account with subdomain: 2.domain.com

    That's what DNS clustering does?
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No.

    DNS Clustering allows DNS records to be stored on a remote server so if your cPanel/WHM server goes down, DNS queries can still be handled.

    DNS Clustering has nothing to do with enhancing/degrading the capabilities of DNS such as creating sub-domains etc.
     
  5. darkshadow604

    darkshadow604 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    But shouldn't all servers retrieve queries from the master server?
     
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What exactly do you mean?

    Note that this is not the same as the deprecated master/slave DNS server relationships previously supported by cPanel/WHM so there is no designated master server. In a cPanel DNS Clustering setup there are 1 or more cPanel/WHM servers and a single DNS-Only server.
     
  7. darkshadow604

    darkshadow604 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I can't explain well. I'll just test it out myself. But, I'm talking about 2 cPanel servers.

    Thanks.
     
  8. Eboy

    Eboy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ... but it also makes the DNS zones to be transferred to every server in the DNS Cluster, making a huge security risk of it.
     
  9. mikelegg

    mikelegg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Can I just clarify that .... you can only have ONE DNS-Only server in the cluster?
     
  10. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    At this time, that is correct.
     
  11. hbidad

    hbidad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Now I'm confused...

    We have 4 cpanel servers in a cluster working just as it should.

    Please elaborate on your Comment cPanelDavidG
     
  12. mikelegg

    mikelegg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16

    You can have as many "Full" cPanel servers clustered as you like, but you can only have one "DNS-ONLY" server in the cluster.
     
  13. VeZoZ

    VeZoZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider

    Now I am really confused because I am currently running two DNS only servers inside of a cluster. All our cPanel machines send their updates to the primary who then sends those entries to the secondary. I've had this setup for quite a while to without issue
     
  14. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Interesting :).
     
  15. bmuthig

    bmuthig Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    2 DNS-only servers - supported or not?

    I have to say I find this quite perplexing.

    From a sysadmin standpoint it seems quite "normal" to want to separate DNS servers out to their own servers once you are dealing with enough domains and a larger network for various reasons. We are in fact planning on moving to a 2 DNS only cluster setup from our current one DNS only cluster setup and would like to know for sure if this is going to be supported. Honestly from a technical standpoint, I don't see why it wouldn't be. Like VeZoZ said, it works fine right now but I would like to make sure if will stay that way in the future.

    Can you possibly escalate this question to a higher level and get an official response on this?

    If this isn't "officially" supported, it certainly should be. When you are scaling to lots of servers in the same cluster it's inevitable you will want to have dedicated boxes for DNS and not run it on the same box with customers on it.

    Thanks.
     
  16. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The QA staff has kindly informed me that you can have multiple (1,2 or more) DNS-Only servers in a cluster.
     
  17. cPanelBilly

    cPanelBilly Guest

    Dave beat me to it :)
     
    #17 cPanelBilly, Nov 1, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 1, 2007
  18. bmuthig

    bmuthig Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Thank you.

    Excellent, thank you for clearing that up. It's always nice when common sense prevails. :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page