The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS Clustering, old zones don't get copied to the cluster server

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by waikit86, Oct 25, 2007.

  1. waikit86

    waikit86 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I installed DNS Only on a new server to do DNS Clustering and everything is all set. When I add/delete/modify a zone on a cPanel server, it will sync with the DNS Only server. However, the zones that were created before I enabled DNS Clustering haven't been copied to the DNS Only server. so my question is, how do I have all the zones sync to the new DNS server?
     
  2. minotauro

    minotauro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Access the WHM and click on Synchronize DNS Records.
     
  3. waikit86

    waikit86 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I tried, but the zones that were created before I enabled clustering still haven't been copied. Only the zones that created after enabling clustering are being sync
     
  4. waikit86

    waikit86 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I used sync method v1 instead of v2, and it's fixed now.
     
  5. s.a.

    s.a. Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    waikit86, make sure all your zones are copied.
    I had exactly same problem, so I did v1 sync, which took 4 hours and copied only about half of the zones and stopped.

    I've ended up copying zone files and named.conf from another dns server.
     
  6. summy

    summy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I've just experienced the same problem.

    Setting up a new server on Centos 5, tried to sync all domains from the old FreeBSD server and it would copy the db files across, but not enter them into the named.conf file.

    The only solution was to do it 1 by 1 (sync one), or the v1 method, which seems to work ok, but slow.
     
  7. tbutler

    tbutler Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Should I (or somebody) submit a bug report to cPanel on this? I just had the same issue and it was driving me crazy. V1 sync fixed the issue (the server issue, not me being crazy). :)

    -Tim
     
  8. cyexx

    cyexx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I just setup a dns-only and i have done a version 1 and a version 2 and the dns-only machine has not replicated instead it is now corrupting the bind files

    so that machine is dead in the water.

    I am open for suggestions.
     
  9. Freezer

    Freezer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Den Haag
    On your dns only machine, try to run this /scripts/dnscluster syncall
     
  10. cyexx

    cyexx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I just ran that command and it is still not syncing the DNS entries to the DNS machine.
     
  11. Freezer

    Freezer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Den Haag
    I suggest you fill in a support ticket to get support.
     
  12. myBox

    myBox Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    hi

    to get all the zone files into named.conf run this command:

    /scripts/rebuildnamedconf


    after you do a v2 sync and successfully copy the zone files to the server.

    remember that this DNS uses port 2087 to communicate so you have to open this port in all the clustered servers.

    good luck
     
  13. cyexx

    cyexx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    worked with cpanel on this one for some reason bind was corrupted on the main machine and would not allow sync.
     
Loading...

Share This Page