The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dns clustering

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by eigh, Jan 20, 2006.

  1. eigh

    eigh Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Whenever I try to add another dns-only cpanel server to my cluster, I get the following error:

    The trust relationship could not be established from the remote server to this server. You must login to the remote server a add this server to it's cluster manager.

    No entry exists in error_log, and it appears that the server actually added the server to the cluster because when I refresh the page, it appears in the cluster as 'standalone'.

    SHould I ignore this error?
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    So long as it actually works (i.e. the zone files are duplicated on the DNS Only server in /var/named and within named.conf) and the Cluster Configuration looks OK afterwards, then it' must be an anomolous error.
     
  3. eigh

    eigh Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    dns

    Thats where the problem begins.

    The synchronization doesn't occur unless I manually force it to replicate using the Main >> DNS Functions >> Synchronize DNS Records.

    If I have to make a cron job to synch zones, thats fine, but I cant find any documentation that hints as to how this is supposed to work.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks,

    -- Jason
     
  4. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    loin to the other server and add the key of the server over there. once done, redo the step at the first server and restart named on both servers.

    the error might appear again, but will work.
     
  5. eigh

    eigh Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Correct me if I am wrong.

    You are suggesting that I

    1) copy server1's cert to server2
    2) copy server2's cert to server1
    3) /sbin/service named restart on both server1 and server2

    I initially had to share the keys across the two servers when I tried to set the replication up to begin with... Is this a known anomoly, or am I just special?
     
  6. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    i think your just special
    Access Key should be set up that way
     
Loading...

Share This Page