Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

DNS CNAME Issue

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by omcreations, Mar 26, 2014.

  1. omcreations

    omcreations Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have a dedicated server with cPanel running on it. Currently, there are 4 domains with emails. On one of the domains, the HTTP requests will go to a site over on Amazon Web Services, but all emails for that single domain will remain on the server.

    I was provided with the CNAME for Amazon, but when I try to create it in cPanel, I receive an error: "Unable to parse zone: Contains a malformed wildcard name: C*". I've altered some of the URL, for client security, but what was provided by Amazon is: C*.mydomain.com:gssb1-0000000.us-east-1.elb.amazonaws.com:86400

    Any thoughts on how to add this CNAME to cPanel DNS settings?
     
  2. LostNerd

    LostNerd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hastings, East Sussex, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Unfortunately, it's not possible to setup CNAME entries to point to ports. They can only point from hostname to hostname. Personally, I can't think of a logical route around it. Perhaps ask Amazon to provide you with a subdomain?

    EDIT: I was wrong. rhenderson's comment below should help.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #2 LostNerd, Mar 26, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2014
  3. rhenderson

    rhenderson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    CNAME wildcards are "legal" as outlined in RFC 4592 (see http://www.ietf.org/rfc/rfc4592.txt ) but it appears cPanel doesn't like them. If you need it you might have to buy a DNS service that will allow it. If someone from cPanel could chime in and verify that perhaps you can do this....

    Basically escaping the * with ""

    I figured the 86400 was TTL, but your right if it is included in the string instead of the TTL that is not going to work.

    I think it is just the way it was written, it does look like a port. but I think it is TTL
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #3 rhenderson, Mar 26, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2014
  4. LostNerd

    LostNerd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hastings, East Sussex, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    It's a late night for me. (Currently 02:25am)

    Naturally assuming everything is ports. (Network Admin here! -.-)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. omcreations

    omcreations Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Escaping with "" didn't work. Still had the malformed wildcard. It looks like cPanel just doesn't support strings like that.

    I ended up going over to my domain registrar and added a CNAME on their records, which appear to be working perfect at this time.
     
  6. LostNerd

    LostNerd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hastings, East Sussex, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I'm glad you've got it sorted one way or another however, we're you using cPanel's "Simple DNS Zone Editor" or did you use the DNS Zone Editor in WHM? You may have more luck via the latter.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,367
    Likes Received:
    1,855
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please feel free to submit a feature request if you would like the ability to use wildcard name CNAME entries (e.g. A*, B*, C*) when editing a DNS Zone:

    Submit A Feature Request

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice