The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS config server + firewall

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by chad101, Apr 18, 2007.

1. chad101

chad101 Active Member

I’m an utter newbie when it comes to DNS configuration. I just installed config server security + firewall. I love it! But, when I run a server security test I’m warned about the recursive DNS. I tried to fix this problem by editing named.conf and turning recursion off. This caused strange errors with Fantastico so I changed named.conf back to its original settings. So my question is should I really be concerned about recursive DNS?

Also after reviewing my dns configuration on dnsreport.com I have 3 errors and I was wondering if someone could please post a link with some documentation on how to fix these errors posted below.

1, Missing (stealth) nameservers dns3.waloop.org
    2, Missing nameservers 2 ns1.greatlakehost.com
    3, Stealth NS record leakage dns3.waloop.org

Thanks, Chad

2. senthil0787

senthil0787 Member

Hi chad101,

The problem seems to be your not properly updated the nameservers in the server DNS recored as in register end,please make the note that always the domain will get resolve if nameservers in the register end and nameservers in server should match..than only the domain should pointed to server as well ...hope your understand and i have check your domain in checkdns.net and result as follows FYI

NS list mismatch: registration authority reports that domain is hosted on the following servers: 'ns1.greatlakehost.com; dns2.waloop.org; dns1.waloop.org', but DNS server dns1.waloop.org reports domain to be hosted on 'dns3.waloop.org; dns1.waloop.org; dns2.waloop.org'. Please make sure that you configure the same DNS servers in registrar database and on your DNS

3. chad101

chad101 Active Member

thank you