Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

DNS crossed problem

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by Un Area, Dec 28, 2012.

  1. Un Area

    Un Area Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Hi, I have a site that has 4 dns loaded:

    ns1.site.com MAIN SERVER
    ns2.site.com MAIN SERVER
    ns1.server2.com SECOND SERVER
    ns2.server2.com SECOND SERVER

    Ok, ns1.server2.com and ns2.server2.com were never used but are loaded at the .com registar. I created the account in the second server cause I needed to shut down the main to do a FSCK.

    When the main server was off, ns1.server2.com and ns2.server2.com started to work showing the site in the other server. After 20 minutes I turned on the main server, so in theory the site should start working at ns1.site.com and ns2.site.com again, thats correct but the problem Im having now is that from some places responds the first servers dns and in others the second server ip.

    This happened on Wed 25th, now its Friday 28th and still doing this (2 days). Why do I have to check??

    Is there a way to accelerate this??

    Thanks
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. Un Area

    Un Area Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Running intodns.com tool I get this:

    Looks like your nameservers do not agree on the SOA serial. Ths SOA records as reported by your nameservers:
    11.11.11.11 -> 2012122705 (main server ip)
    22.22.22.22 -> 2012122803 (main server ip at second server)
    23.23.23.23 -> 2012122803 (secondary server ip at second server)
    12.12.12.12 -> 2012122705 (main server secondary ip)
    This can cause some serious problems that is why you should fix this asap.

    I dont understand what is wrong with this.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #2 Un Area, Dec 28, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2012
  3. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If I understand right what you explained, your domain has 4 name servers, 2 of those pointing to server1, and 2 others pointing to server2.
    Name servers do not have priority, which means that a visitor will get randomly either server1 or server2 address.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Un Area

    Un Area Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    That´s correct. Is there a way to force the priorty to server 1????????
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No. If a domain has 4 name servers, they are randomly used.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Un Area

    Un Area Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    even if I set the SOA of second server to ns1 of first server and points the A record to the ip of main server?

    Or deleting the copy at server 2, or removing the dns to server 2 at the .com
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #6 Un Area, Dec 28, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2012
  7. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Either remove the 2 last name servers, OR set them to point to the same IPs as the 2 first name servers.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice