The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS crossed problem

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Un Area, Dec 28, 2012.

  1. Un Area

    Un Area Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi, I have a site that has 4 dns loaded:

    ns1.site.com MAIN SERVER
    ns2.site.com MAIN SERVER
    ns1.server2.com SECOND SERVER
    ns2.server2.com SECOND SERVER

    Ok, ns1.server2.com and ns2.server2.com were never used but are loaded at the .com registar. I created the account in the second server cause I needed to shut down the main to do a FSCK.

    When the main server was off, ns1.server2.com and ns2.server2.com started to work showing the site in the other server. After 20 minutes I turned on the main server, so in theory the site should start working at ns1.site.com and ns2.site.com again, thats correct but the problem Im having now is that from some places responds the first servers dns and in others the second server ip.

    This happened on Wed 25th, now its Friday 28th and still doing this (2 days). Why do I have to check??

    Is there a way to accelerate this??

    Thanks
     
  2. Un Area

    Un Area Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Running intodns.com tool I get this:

    Looks like your nameservers do not agree on the SOA serial. Ths SOA records as reported by your nameservers:
    11.11.11.11 -> 2012122705 (main server ip)
    22.22.22.22 -> 2012122803 (main server ip at second server)
    23.23.23.23 -> 2012122803 (secondary server ip at second server)
    12.12.12.12 -> 2012122705 (main server secondary ip)
    This can cause some serious problems that is why you should fix this asap.

    I dont understand what is wrong with this.
     
    #2 Un Area, Dec 28, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2012
  3. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If I understand right what you explained, your domain has 4 name servers, 2 of those pointing to server1, and 2 others pointing to server2.
    Name servers do not have priority, which means that a visitor will get randomly either server1 or server2 address.
     
  4. Un Area

    Un Area Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    That´s correct. Is there a way to force the priorty to server 1????????
     
  5. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No. If a domain has 4 name servers, they are randomly used.
     
  6. Un Area

    Un Area Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    even if I set the SOA of second server to ns1 of first server and points the A record to the ip of main server?

    Or deleting the copy at server 2, or removing the dns to server 2 at the .com
     
    #6 Un Area, Dec 28, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2012
  7. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Either remove the 2 last name servers, OR set them to point to the same IPs as the 2 first name servers.
     
Loading...

Share This Page