The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS edits always place domains in /etc/locadomain

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by hbidad, Jun 18, 2008.

  1. hbidad

    hbidad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Irregardless if a client unchecks "Always accept mail locally even if the primary mx does not point to this server." The domain is removed from remotedomains to localdomains after any DNS edits.

    This has been occurring with the last few Current builds.

    The only temp work around is to enable the MX checking, but then we have many problems after "create new account" if the domain resolves elsewhere. Which is 99% of all created accounts.
     
    #1 hbidad, Jun 18, 2008
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2008
  2. hbidad

    hbidad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    anyone having the same issue?
     
  3. mpierre

    mpierre Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have the same problem...
     
  4. eperdeme

    eperdeme Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I have the same problem. It's a very annoying bug. Going to have to code a script to check localdomains for every MX record to ensure its resolving to a local IP otherwise move it to remotedomains - or something like that.
     
  5. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Feel welcome to let our technical analysts take a look at your server to see what may be causing this: http://tickets.cPanel.net/submit
     
  6. eperdeme

    eperdeme Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Allowing access is very frustrating as means modifying several software and hardware firewalls and our last ticket went round in circles for ages trying to understand what we was saying/

    The problems because cPanel does not check when a domain is parked on the server regardless of the Tweak Settings to setup local/remotedomains.

    If you go to MX edit in the cPanel interface it says 'do not force local delivery' however it ignores this until you say 'force local' then remove 'force local' AND before all this you must specify a MX record.

    cPanel should understand if BIND is disabled then not to refer to any local Zone file it creates and lookup the MX on park.
     
Loading...

Share This Page