The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS entries fudged.

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Downthe.NET, Jul 1, 2008.

1. Downthe.NET

Downthe.NET Member

Hi there,

If this has been posted, please send me a link and I'm sorry that I didn't find it before posting.

I own a dedicated server and just installed WHM/cPanel on it. The hostname is riposte.downthe.net with the domain obviously being downthe.net

Problem is that my DNS records don't seem to want to play ball. If I create new accounts, they do not find the server (even subdomains don't work)

Every time I log in it asks me to add missing A records for riposte.downthe.net and will keep doing it every login. I've added the records via WHM and SSH.

I know it's a nameserver/DNS issue, but since I'm new to WHM on a dedicated server (been using it as a reseller for a couple of years now), I'm doing something nooby and stupid.

Obviously you will need more detail, please let me know what you need and I'll post it here.

Help ASAP would greatly be appreciated...

Cheers,
    Dave

2. Downthe.NET

Downthe.NET Member

OK, Just fixed the A Name problems using a guide here on the forums, however accounts still do not work on the site.

I can ping ns1.downthe.net but not ns2.downthe.net

I know it's something nooby with the DNS zones that I've typoed or missed. I've deleted and recreated all of them to no avail.

I think the problem lies with my hostname not being resolvable - riposte.downthe.net does not respond. What entries have I missed, screwed up with the hostname? This is obviously the answer to all my problems!

Thanks in advance.

3. ravindradhainwa

ravindradhainwa Well-Known Member

Hello,

You need to check the hostname entry into hosts file. To check hostname entry into hosts file and check whether entries are similar as follows.