The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS Failure? (cPanel can't see its' own nameservers' IP addresses?)

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by AlbinoGeek, Mar 25, 2013.

  1. AlbinoGeek

    AlbinoGeek Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    My server is configured to have nameservers as follows:
    - ns1.goodhosting.co
    - ns2.goodhosting.co

    The domain I am attempting to park is:
    - albinogeek.net

    Note that the nameservers on albinogeek.net are ns1.goodhosting.co and ns2.goodhosting.co ; but SERVFAIL when you attempt to get the IP of the site (as the domain fails to park in cPanel.)

    The exact error message is:
    "Using nameservers with the following IPs: 109.200.28.171,109.200.28.170 Sorry, the domain is already pointed to an IP address that does not appear to use DNS servers associated with this server. Please transfer the domain to this servers nameservers or have your administrator add one of its nameservers to /etc/ips.remotedns and make the proper A entries on that remote nameserver. "

    The two IP addresses listed are in fact the IP addresses of ns1.goodhosting.co and ns2.goodhosting.co and exist in /etc/ipaddrpool ; but the /etc/ips and /etc/ips.remotedns files are both empty.

    None of these files have been hand-edited, all were automatically filled by cPanel/WHM during installation.

    Do I need to fill /etc/ips with the server IPs or is there something somewhere else that is causing this error to arise?

    Below are quotes of the related files and pages in WHM:
    I'm honestly not sure what would be causing this, so am eagerly awaiting public opinions and workaround ideas.
     
    #1 AlbinoGeek, Mar 25, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2013
  2. AlbinoGeek

    AlbinoGeek Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Misc related command output:

    ie: all hostnames show proper IPs in the local nameserver, as well as in OpenDNS (secondary/tertiary nameservers.)
     
  3. arunsv84

    arunsv84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you have recently updated the name servers for the domain "albinogeek.net", it will take some time for the dns to propagate. You can try to add it after couple of hours. By default cPanel will not allow to add the domains that are not pointing to your server. If you cant wait for dns propagation, you can disable the setting by navigating to WHM >> Tweak setting.

    tick: Allow users to Park/Addon Domains on top of domains owned by other users.

    tick: Allow Creation of Parked/Addon Domains that are not registered

    Tick: Prevent users from parking/adding on common internet domains

    Save and then try to add the domain. Once the domain is added you can untick all the above.

    Cheers!!!
     
Loading...

Share This Page