The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS Functions Stopped Working in WHM

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by John Donnellon, Aug 3, 2016.

Tags:
  1. John Donnellon

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New Baltimore, Michigan, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I recently logged into WHM to set up a parked domain for a client and I can't seem to do anything that requires WHM to write to DNS zone files. In fact when I try any WHM function that even requires the program to pull a list of DNS zones such as "Delete a DNS Zone" or "Edit DNS Zone" WHM hangs for a bit and then shows an empty box where zones should be listed. I tried setting up a new account to see if the DNS zone would be created and it was not. The account was created but nothing in /var/named. Has anyone experienced this and have a fix? I also tried forcing an update (overwrite) of WHM to no avail.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,765
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Do you notice any error messages in /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log or in /var/log/messages when creating a new account or adding a domain name to an existing account?

    Thank you.
     
  3. John Donnellon

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New Baltimore, Michigan, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No I am not seeing errors in those logs. When I attempt to create an account the browser appears to hang at "Setting up Proxy Subdomains"
     
  4. John Donnellon

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New Baltimore, Michigan, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Actually I am seeing a bunch of query errors in messages file, but they don't seem related directly. I'm getting a ton of these query errors for domains that no longer have accounts on this server.
    Code:
    Aug  5 10:20:53 vps******** named[24144]: client 173.194.91.69#39609: view external: query (cache) '**********.com/A/IN' denied
    Aug  5 10:20:53 vps******** named[24144]: client 173.194.91.89#56311: view external: query (cache) '**********.com/A/IN' denied
    Aug  5 10:20:54 vps******** named[24144]: client 173.194.91.84#47882: view external: query (cache) '**********.com/A/IN' denied
    Aug  5 10:20:54 vps******** named[24144]: client 173.194.91.86#39417: view external: query (cache) '**********.com/A/IN' denied
    Aug  5 10:20:58 vps******** named[24144]: client 200.155.38.1#40633: view external: query (cache) '**********.com/A/IN' denied
    Aug  5 10:20:58 vps******** named[24144]: client 177.52.185.50#53925: view external: query (cache) '**********.com/A/IN' denied
    Aug  5 10:20:58 vps******** named[24144]: client 200.155.38.1#46069: view external: query (cache) '**********.com/A/IN' denied
    
     
    #4 John Donnellon, Aug 5, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 6, 2016
  5. John Donnellon

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    New Baltimore, Michigan, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Update: I ran an update of DNSAdmin and restarted and the problem was resolved
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,765
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I'm happy to see you were able to resolve the issue. Internal case CPANEL-7488 is open to ensure the "dnsadmin" service is always monitored by Chkservd so that's it's restarted when detected as not running. The resolution is scheduled for inclusion with cPanel version 60.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page