The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS Hosting possible?

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by WEBDOMAIN.com, Jan 17, 2008.

  1. WEBDOMAIN.com

    WEBDOMAIN.com Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Europe
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hi,

    It came to my attention that it was not that easy to configure WHM for DNS hosting (without account) only.

    Is there any tutorial / addon available making this feature possible?
     
  2. nickp666

    nickp666 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    /dev/null
    you cant really do dns hosting without writing yourself some scripts to use the WHM XML API, otherwise you would have to have a whole load of reseller accounts on your server, as you can only edit dns zones from WHM
     
  3. WEBDOMAIN.com

    WEBDOMAIN.com Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Europe
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    This is what I thought too.
    However, how can this be done manually?
    Is it still possible to add and manage manually a DNS record for a remotely hosted domain without conflicting with WHM?
     
  4. nickp666

    nickp666 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    /dev/null
    it is indeed possible, in WHM > DNS Functions, you have 'Create a New DNS Zone'
     
  5. WEBDOMAIN.com

    WEBDOMAIN.com Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Europe
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    So far, I also came to this solution.
    My concern is more about the WHM automated tasks cleaning the DNS zones that are not allocated to an account.

    I might be wrong but I guess WHM remove the orphan zones. Will these "manually" added zones considered as orphans too as long as no account is associated with them?
     
  6. nickp666

    nickp666 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    /dev/null
    none of the dns zones are cleaned automatically, no checks are run on them or anything, perfectly safe to add zones manually - they wont go anywhere
     
  7. WEBDOMAIN.com

    WEBDOMAIN.com Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Europe
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    As a side note, the XML API hasn't any command to manage DNS.
    Unfortunately, it seems impossible to propose DNS hosting without configuring it each time manually.
     
Loading...

Share This Page