The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS is not working at all!

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Helme, Sep 27, 2016.

1. Helme

Helme Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Greetings everybody,

First of all, let me say that I'm a newbie to this whole thing so please excuse me if my questions seem too straight forward or silly.
    I reckon the best way to ask for help about my issue is to tell the whole story and I'd like you to help me identify where the problem is exactly but I'm pretty sure it's something to do with DNS.
    So I went on a website that provides VPS, I bought a VPS and installed CentOS 7.2 server on it.

The first thing I did is that I installed perl - updated - installed cPanel/WHM in the following order:-
    1- yum install perl
    2- yum -y update
    3- cd /home
    4- hostname *my FQDN*
    4- wget https://securedownloads.cpanel.net/latest
    5- sh latest
    So now I have installed cPanel.

Now, I have bought 3 static IPs for my WHM.
    Then I went to https://IP:2087 and went through the basic installation guide.
    The reason I got 3 IPs is because I wanted the hostname to have a unique IP address and also each nameserver.

So I went to DNS functions and edited the DNS zones and provided A entry for the host name, ns1 and ns2.
    Then I went to my domain provider (which provides the domain that I have used in the hostname) and changed the nameservers to ns1.mydomain.com/ns2.mydomain.com

But the domain just doesn't work, nothing works actually. I feel like I've missed something along the way but I can't identify it, I don't know what's wrong and I don't know what I'm missing. This has been the issue for about a week now and I have absolutely no clue what to do. Help is much appreciated.