The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS is updated before each account is fully copied over!

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Valetia, May 2, 2012.

  1. Valetia

    Valetia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    When copying accounts between servers, the clustered DNS is updated with the new zone files before the transfer is completed (using homedir streaming).

    This causes some visitors to arrive at the half-copied account on the new server, which isn't a good thing to have happen (e.g. broken web apps/sites), and can be a security issue in some cases (e.g. password protected directories not yet being protected, etc).

    Shouldn't the DNS be updated only after the entire account has been copied over?
     
Loading...

Share This Page