The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS Issue?! Please help!

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by npa, Mar 22, 2007.

  1. npa

    npa Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have a problem.

    When I add a new account to my whm newsite.com and configure it sometimes works ok and sometimes not.

    If I run newsite.com it gives me page not found.

    If I ping my nameservers it resolves them ok. I get the right IP.

    If I do Synchronize DNS Records everything works OK!
    But I don't want to do this every day.

    Does anybody has the same problem?
     
  2. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Assuming your DNS zones, and other Named files are configured correctly, you should run your newsite.com by dnsstuff.com or dnsreport.com and see if you get clean report.
     
  3. npa

    npa Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I get a NS fail...

    NS FAIL NS A timeout occurred getting the NS records from your nameservers! None of your nameservers responded fast enough. They are probably down or unreachable. I can't continue since your nameservers aren't responding. If you have a Watchguard Firebox, it's due to a bug in their DNS Proxy, which must be disabled (31 Jul 2006 UPDATE: several years after being informed of this, there is a rumor that there is a fix that allows the Watchguard DNS proxy to work).

    I know what the problem is but I don't know where to fix it!

    ns.mysite.com. [72.36.187.151] [TTL=172800] [US]
    ns1.mysite.com. [64.185.233.50] [TTL=172800] [US]
    [These were obtained from b.gtld-servers.net]

    The ns records on dnsstuff show incorrect IP. If I ping the ns's in dos prompt they show correct IP!
     
  4. npa

    npa Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Please help. I'm desperate! Any good people in here to help a rookie?
     
  5. tuxican

    tuxican Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Do you use centralized name servers or the name servers point to the same server where the domain's website is hosted?
     
  6. npa

    npa Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for responding. I dont know exactly what you ment with centralized name servers.

    I have ns.mysite.com and ns1.mysite.com added in Basic cPanel/WHM Setup - Primary and secondary Nameserver. If I do Add A entry for the nameserver it shows incorrect IP and also secondary incorrect ip.

    If I ping both nameservers it shows correct IP. Really don't know what's wrong there.
     
  7. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you register the correct IP numbers for the nameservers at your registrar?
     
  8. Gutsmell

    Gutsmell Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ns.mysite.com and ns1.mysite.com are both seen as the primary nameserver. You should use either ns.mysite.com /ns2.mysite.com OR ns1.mysite.com /ns2.mysite.com
     
  9. Kelmas

    Kelmas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lithuania
    Make sure you have exactly the same IPs for ns1 and ns2 on both your DNS zones AND in glue records (registered by your domain registrar).

    Example:

    if you have ns.domain.tld with IP 1.2.3.4, you must first register it at domain.tld registrar ("Hosts on file", "Register name servers" or smt. like that) so that you have an A record of ns.domain.tld with 1.2.3.4 on parent servers.

    Next, make an A record of ns.domain.tld with IP 1.2.3.4 in the nameserver which maintains domain.tld zone.
     
Loading...

Share This Page