Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

DNS Issues -- I Need Help!

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by douglatz, Nov 29, 2007.

  1. douglatz

    douglatz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    I'm stumped.

    I've installed CPANEL on a Linux Fedora platform, given it it's own domain, separate from my existing domains (geekoids-webhosting.com), and DNS just doesn't seem to be propagating. If I run a nslookup of www.geekoids-webhosting.com or www.spayinc.org (the two domains currently hosted by the server), nothing is returned ... or rather, a 'no server could be reached' error is returned. (If I do this on the cpanel server, it *does* return the correct information)

    The cpanel server is acting as the nameserver and the IP is registered as ns.geekoids-webhosting.com through Dotster.

    Additionally, I've set up another server to act as ns2.geekoids-webhosting.com and installed DNS-ONLY. I can't for the life of me figure out how to incorporate it into the clustered DNS that cpanel seems to want. When I go to set up the cluster, the form wants the rhash and gives me a link to click on to collect it from the target server - except that link times out. I have no idea if DNS-ONLY is running properly because there seems to be a paucity of documention regarding the product.

    Any suggestions would be helpful. This migration is turning out to be a bleeping disaster.

    Douglas Glatz
    Geekoid.com, LLC
     
    #1 douglatz, Nov 29, 2007
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2007
  2. douglatz

    douglatz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    n/m

    I'm nuking the server and reinstalling from scratch. If I can't resolve it on this install, I'll find another solution.

    Did I mention how effing FRUSTRATED I am about this?
     
  3. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,216
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    313
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you have any requests that are urgent in the future, you may want to submit a support ticket to your cPanel licensing provider rather than post a message to the community forums.
     
  4. douglatz

    douglatz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    reinstalling from scratch seems to have solved the problem

    just a fyi ...
     
  5. manan

    manan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hi,

    It seems one of the nameserver you are using on the domains is timing out so you should have a look into it.

    ns2.geekoids-webhosting.com [68.178.108.161]
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice