The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS Issues -- I Need Help!

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by douglatz, Nov 29, 2007.

  1. douglatz

    douglatz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm stumped.

    I've installed CPANEL on a Linux Fedora platform, given it it's own domain, separate from my existing domains (geekoids-webhosting.com), and DNS just doesn't seem to be propagating. If I run a nslookup of www.geekoids-webhosting.com or www.spayinc.org (the two domains currently hosted by the server), nothing is returned ... or rather, a 'no server could be reached' error is returned. (If I do this on the cpanel server, it *does* return the correct information)

    The cpanel server is acting as the nameserver and the IP is registered as ns.geekoids-webhosting.com through Dotster.

    Additionally, I've set up another server to act as ns2.geekoids-webhosting.com and installed DNS-ONLY. I can't for the life of me figure out how to incorporate it into the clustered DNS that cpanel seems to want. When I go to set up the cluster, the form wants the rhash and gives me a link to click on to collect it from the target server - except that link times out. I have no idea if DNS-ONLY is running properly because there seems to be a paucity of documention regarding the product.

    Any suggestions would be helpful. This migration is turning out to be a bleeping disaster.

    Douglas Glatz
    Geekoid.com, LLC
     
    #1 douglatz, Nov 29, 2007
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2007
  2. douglatz

    douglatz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    n/m

    I'm nuking the server and reinstalling from scratch. If I can't resolve it on this install, I'll find another solution.

    Did I mention how effing FRUSTRATED I am about this?
     
  3. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you have any requests that are urgent in the future, you may want to submit a support ticket to your cPanel licensing provider rather than post a message to the community forums.
     
  4. douglatz

    douglatz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    reinstalling from scratch seems to have solved the problem

    just a fyi ...
     
  5. manan

    manan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    It seems one of the nameserver you are using on the domains is timing out so you should have a look into it.

    ns2.geekoids-webhosting.com [68.178.108.161]
     
Loading...

Share This Page