The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS Issues

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by explicit, Feb 12, 2005.

1. explicit

explicit Member

Feb 12, 2005
    ok...i posted a bit ago and i got a rather helpful response...but im still having problem.

I dont know how to set up the DNS in WHM as im new to dedicated servers. Heres what ive done so far

1) Done the server set up and set the dns to and <- examples. The first domain name server was automatically assigned the main IP of the server. The second was assigned one of the other 4 Ip's.

2) I found a feature in WHM about enabling Name Servers So I Did That.

3) Ive modified the hostname from what it started with My server IP i know that much. To

4) When i try to goto where i bought my Domain and get my domain to point at my server it denys access...It says it cant point to that name server and gives me some error 500.

Im very confused in this matter anyone please help :mad:
  2. webignition

webignition Well-Known Member

Jan 22, 2005
    This is based on how I did it . . .

I'm relatively new to managing a server, so I'm no expert, but I can tell you how I did it so that you have something to follow. You've probably completed some of these steps, but they're all here just for completeness.

In order to use your own domain name as name server aliases, you'll first need to modify the DNS records for this to work. Given the fact that you said "When i try to goto where i bought my Domain and get my domain to point at my server . . .", I assume that you are not yet hosting this domain.

1. Have the relevant A and GLUE records set up in the registry of