The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS Issues

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by viral, Jan 21, 2006.

  1. viral

    viral Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I'm having a few problems with my DNS / Domain.

    I have my main one as the hostname and another one setup as a normal account.

    Neither of them actually take you to the site.... they both resolve perfect also..

    Resolved my-site.com to 209.11.x.x
    Resolved my-other-site.net to 209.11.x.x

    is there any other things I should be looking for when I set these 2 things up?

    If you need the domain name, just ask.

    Im kind of a newbie to cPanel so, help would be appreciated!

    -Thanks!
     
  2. WebScHoLaR

    WebScHoLaR Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    If the domains are resolving to the correct IP, then if you have root access you need to check httpd.conf that the entries for both domains are correct.If you don't have root access then ask your hosting provider to look it fro you.
     
  3. viral

    viral Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    <VirtualHost 209.11.x.x>
    ServerAlias my-domain.com
    ServerAdmin webmaster@my-domain.com
    DocumentRoot /home/mydomain/public_html
    BytesLog domlogs/my-domain.com-bytes_log
    ServerName www.mydomain.com

    User mydomain
    Group mydomain
    CustomLog /usr/local/apache/domlogs/my-domain.com combined
    ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /home/my-domain/public_html/cgi-bin/
    </VirtualHost>

    everything with MYDOMAIN or MY-DOMAIN is the site name, just for security its blocked out :)

    but thats in my httpd.conf ( i do have root access )
     
  4. viral

    viral Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    does anyone see anything wrong?
     
  5. WebScHoLaR

    WebScHoLaR Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Are you also having

    NameVirtualHost 209.11.x.x:80

    entry on top of the VirtuaHost section ?
     
  6. simplestar

    simplestar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Not sure what type of problem your having with DNS. www.dnsstuff.com is a good place to check your domain setup. There's a report tool to the left of that site that gives you an idea where problems might be.

    This site gives an understanding tutorial on server configuration. Specifically the records.
    Linux for Web Administrators

    Off-hand, some of the cPanel files to check are:

    PHP:
    /etc/passwd
    /etc/named.conf
    /etc/valiases
    /etc/localdomains and then /etc/remotedomains 
    /etc/resolv.conf
    /etc/hosts (causes the error to popup in whm)
    /
    etc/localdomains
    /etc/nameserverips (restart bind after)
    /
    etc/named.conf
    /etc/localdomains
    /etc/userdomains
    /etc/trueuserdomains
    /etc/trueuserowners
    /etc/passwd 
    /etc/group 
    /etc/wwwacct.conf 
    /etc/domainalias 
    /etc/remotedomains 
    /etc/secondarymx
    /etc/shadow 
    /etc/userdomains 
    :)
     
    #6 simplestar, Jan 25, 2006
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2006
  7. madaboutlinux

    madaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Earth
    Can you put the domain name here so that people here can get a clue what exact error do you receive while surfing the domain name ?
     
  8. viral

    viral Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    sorry I haven't posted in a while, problem has been fixed, there was a line missing in the httpd.conf :x
     
Loading...

Share This Page