Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

DNS looks right but not working.

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by GloVine, Jun 18, 2005.

  1. GloVine

    GloVine Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hey,

    i have a problem, i transferred a reseller off another server and recreated it. At first, the customer couldnt work out how to create nameservers off his domain registar so we used the default servers ones for now, they worked, however he then found out how to make nameservers and proceeded to do so. he made the nameservers with the ips that we had made using the manage nameserver IPs.

    The DNS Zone are set to the correct ns1 IP, aswell as the correct nameserver settings,
    The domain goes to the correct nameservers and IPs
    The reseller nameservers are set right.
    The reseller has the correct shared IP

    However it says there is no website configured at this address.

    The account was created about 7 days ago now, including the new nameservers.

    Anyone help me out?
     
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,696
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    cant really help you without the domain name & ip's etc feel free to PM them to meif you dont want to post on the forms
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. GloVine

    GloVine Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Re

    PM'ed You, thanks
     
  4. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,696
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Pm you back with posible solutions
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. user.forum

    user.forum Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    you guys can PM each other but you should post the "possible solutions" here ;)
     
  6. Hip Hop Servers

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Nobody posts the solutions to these issues and everyone seems to keep having the same problem.
     
  7. bamasbest

    bamasbest Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Well, this may or may not help...

    You desire to provide a reseller with "vanity" nameservers.

    1. Ensure that you create A records in the resellers DNS Zone for each nameserver.

    2. Ensure that your reseller creates host records with their registrar for each nameserver.

    3. Ensure that the reseller's privs/nameservers in their account creation limits section of whm specifies their vanity nameservers.

    I have found, that by missing one of the above, things just won't work;)
     
  8. Hip Hop Servers

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Dns

    The issue many people have is after setup and general configuration. The you have the named, and apache running fine with no issues in the httpd.conf file but the sites configured are not showing to up. A few users the issue was that they had not let the DNS info propogate through the net.

    Others like myself have the DNS info update via the web through our requestive registars, and have configure the dns information on the server properly. Configure the sites on the server with WHM and still the sites show an error of "Website Not Configured" Hence when you goto the site's qualified domain name it gives a not routed error or get the default page when you visit the IP.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice