The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

dns / mx question

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by chadi, Jul 28, 2004.

  1. chadi

    chadi BANNED

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a client that wants me to do the following for him:

    I need this subdomain: "domain" to point to "ip address" and the MX record for this subdomain to point to "domain" as well.

    So, setting up the subdomain "domain" to point to "ip address" would be done in DNS "edit zone" for his main domain (not mentioned above) correct? I did this as

    subdomain 14440 (in) A "ip address"

    is that correct for the DNS part?

    Also, for MX where would I do this? I've never done it so please help me. Thank you.
     
  2. ccccanada

    ccccanada Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    you can do the whole thing automatically by creating the subdomain as a sepparate domain in the WHM/Create Account

    there you can assign an IP to the new domain sub.original.com and the MX record would automatically point at the same IP.

    Maybe I misunderstood what you where asking but it seemed a bit confusing.
     
  3. chadi

    chadi BANNED

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's not it. The IP is outside our network so I cannot just create a new account. THanks for trying at least :)

    Anyone else know?
     
  4. ccccanada

    ccccanada Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    if you would have mentioned that it is supposed to point somewhere else then I would have answered different.

    All you have to do is in WHM/DNS Functions/Add a DNS Zone:

    Add the IP in the IP field and the complete subdomain (sub.domain.ext) in the domain field and click on "Do it"
     
  5. chadi

    chadi BANNED

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page