The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS nameservers propagation - long time - how to setup?

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by DragonDF, Nov 3, 2015.

  1. DragonDF

    DragonDF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Hello guys,

    I have just read a few threads here.
    I know we need to wait at least 48 hours to propagation of the new nameservers IP's works.

    When I move my Reseller account from one server to another I had a lot of problems and lost a few clients. Why? They and their clients could not find the NEW server. I could modify my clients HOTS file, but this is not possible for all new client or person who will visit your website.

    After 2 MONTHS the problem continue.
    All .com.br domains have propagated very fast. Maybe 1h or less.
    All .com domains gave a lot of work.

    Same nameservers (ns1.domainx.com.br , ns2.domainsx.com.br - for example).

    After a few tickets I could see they setup something in the server and the problem was solved.

    I have just moved the domains and data to a new server.
    I am afraid to have the SAME problem again and again.

    I am using the intodns.com service to monitor the NEW IP. But, until now.. things have not happened.


    Reading this tutorial:
    [Tutorial] Nameserver configuration on cPanel servers
    I tried to follow the instructions. Problem: there is not an option to insert the NEW ip. Only nameservers theirselves.

    Please look at the image in attachament.


    I contact Registar to insert the NEW IP in the nameservers of the domains.

    Is there anything I can do with RESELLER's privilegie?

    I hope you can understand, but I can not wait 1 month because support does not want to help to setup NAMESERVERS in a correct way (if this were the case).

    I read this doc, too:
    Guide to DNS Cluster Configurations - cPanel Knowledge Base - cPanel Documentation


    Thank you!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. DragonDF

    DragonDF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    I think I found the problem.

    As you can see in the IMAGE in attachament the NAMESERVERS inside WHM were pointing to the OLD server and not to the NEW server's IPs.

    I have just updated them.
    I hope this can solve the problem.

    If you have any other suggestion, please inform.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,808
    Likes Received:
    667
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Yes, updating the "A" records for the existing name server entries should help to address the issue. You can review a website such as IntoDNS to verify if it's working as intended.

    Thank you.
     
  4. DragonDF

    DragonDF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Yes, it worked. 1h after this procedure it worked fine.

    I hope this can help someone else when they need to migrate their servers to a new host.

    :)
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,808
    Likes Received:
    667
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page