Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

DNS nameservers propagation - long time - how to setup?

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by DragonDF, Nov 3, 2015.

  1. DragonDF

    DragonDF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Hello guys,

    I have just read a few threads here.
    I know we need to wait at least 48 hours to propagation of the new nameservers IP's works.

    When I move my Reseller account from one server to another I had a lot of problems and lost a few clients. Why? They and their clients could not find the NEW server. I could modify my clients HOTS file, but this is not possible for all new client or person who will visit your website.

    After 2 MONTHS the problem continue.
    All .com.br domains have propagated very fast. Maybe 1h or less.
    All .com domains gave a lot of work.

    Same nameservers (ns1.domainx.com.br , ns2.domainsx.com.br - for example).

    After a few tickets I could see they setup something in the server and the problem was solved.

    I have just moved the domains and data to a new server.
    I am afraid to have the SAME problem again and again.

    I am using the intodns.com service to monitor the NEW IP. But, until now.. things have not happened.


    Reading this tutorial:
    [Tutorial] Nameserver configuration on cPanel servers
    I tried to follow the instructions. Problem: there is not an option to insert the NEW ip. Only nameservers theirselves.

    Please look at the image in attachament.


    I contact Registar to insert the NEW IP in the nameservers of the domains.

    Is there anything I can do with RESELLER's privilegie?

    I hope you can understand, but I can not wait 1 month because support does not want to help to setup NAMESERVERS in a correct way (if this were the case).

    I read this doc, too:
    Guide to DNS Cluster Configurations - cPanel Knowledge Base - cPanel Documentation


    Thank you!
     

    Attached Files:

    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. DragonDF

    DragonDF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    I think I found the problem.

    As you can see in the IMAGE in attachament the NAMESERVERS inside WHM were pointing to the OLD server and not to the NEW server's IPs.

    I have just updated them.
    I hope this can solve the problem.

    If you have any other suggestion, please inform.
     

    Attached Files:

    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,827
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    Yes, updating the "A" records for the existing name server entries should help to address the issue. You can review a website such as IntoDNS to verify if it's working as intended.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. DragonDF

    DragonDF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Yes, it worked. 1h after this procedure it worked fine.

    I hope this can help someone else when they need to migrate their servers to a new host.

    :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,827
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I am happy to see the issue is now resolved. Thank you for updating us with the outcome.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice