The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS not working, domain DNS is correct

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by randyl, Mar 7, 2003.

  1. randyl

    randyl Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm new to cpanel, but im having a problem with the DNS. I have a domain pointed to the cpanel server, as its DNS server. The cpanel has the domain added and it shows that the DNS is properly setup. It has been 3 days since I changed the domains DNS to point to the cpanel server, so the DNS propagation should be complete, yet the domain does not resolve. Doing an nslookup from the cpanel machine, on the particular domain, does come up with the proper results.

    Any ideas as to whats causing this problem?

    Thanks!

    Randy
     
  2. diederik

    diederik Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    What's the domain name, so other people can check if they are able to reach it ?
     
  3. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Or, you can use http://dnsreport.com/ to get some possible insight on the problem. Either way, it's hard to give a good answer as their is a lot of variables to determine and not enough info.
     
  4. c4net

    c4net Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have the same problem here too, if I go to nsiregistry.com I can see that the DNS is registerd and should work, but it does not
     
  5. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Problems like this require very specific information -- provided within the post stating the problem -- if anyone is going to answer. As there so many different reasons why it is not working, you would need to provide the info or a link to dnsreport.com with the URL, so we have some information to go by.
     
  6. c4net

    c4net Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    DNs report show no such DNS, NSiregistry.com show a regisrty for those DNS

    ns1.c-4.net 65.125.225.162
    ns2.c-4.net 65.125.225.163

    simply will not resolve although they are registerd.

    I am new at this so perhap something is wrong,

    Cpanel/whm show then as the nameservers for the ips listed

    Svetlana
     
  7. MarlboroMan

    MarlboroMan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2001
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Even though they are registered as nameservers, attempting to do a normal lookup (when not trying to find nameservers specifically, IE, when you try to ping the hostname ns1.c-4.net), will always try to go through normal DNS channels. Since the listed DNS servers for the c-4.net domain are EZ1&2.EZHOST4LESS.NET, it's most likely that there are no A records on those nameservers for the c-4.net domain.

    Get the A records added, and try again.
     
  8. Jurassic

    Jurassic Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm not sure what you see but i am getting:

    www.DNSreport.com

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    You can go to www.DNSstuff.com for all the other DNS tools that used to be here (DNS timing, tracert, ping, smart WHOIS lookup, NetGeo, etc.).

    ...

    Site looks like its working for me, how ever when i added my domain (http://www.jurassicx.com) to my WHM and woke up next morning, whois records showed that my domain name was sucessfully pointing to the correct name servers, how ever it was going else where.

    Took 4 days till it was working correctly, dont know if it was down to CPanel or my ISP.
     
  9. c4net

    c4net Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    C-4 works but is no using those name servers,

    The nameservers do not wok still.

    Sveta
     
  10. Jurassic

    Jurassic Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Reply

    * Looking up dnsreport.com
    -
    * Resolved dnsreport.com to 66.189.58.123
     
  11. c4net

    c4net Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    DNSreort here shows nothing???

    INteresting
     
  12. Jurassic

    Jurassic Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yep

    MIght jsut be ur local Cache or ISP.

    It shud update s00n :)
     
  13. Jurassic

    Jurassic Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yep

    MIght jsut be ur local Cache or ISP.

    It shud update s00n :)
     
  14. c4net

    c4net Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    At the time now 13:43 it shows this

    Generated by www.DNSreport.com at 13:43:41 GMT on 09 Mar 2003.

    [ERROR: The parent servers say that the domain ns1.c-4.net does not exist.]
     
Loading...

Share This Page