The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS NOT WORKING. please help!!

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by aboyz, Jul 21, 2004.

  1. aboyz

    aboyz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    I"m getting the following error when trying to run bind

    anyone know what this message mean??

    ndc: error: ctl_client: evConnect(fd 3): Connection refused ndc: error: cannot connect to command channel (/var/run/ndc)

    What does this mean. please show me how to fix this thx
     
  2. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Have you tried running /scripts/fixndc?
     
  3. aboyz

    aboyz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ofocurse i ran /scripts/fixndc

    didn't fix it.. same issues..

    I even try to deinstall bind9
    and reinstall it same thing


    any other help??
     
  4. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Post or PM some additional info. OS being used. Domain name, etc.
     
  5. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Have you also tried running /scripts/fixnamed?
     
  6. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Depending on how your noc has loaded cpanel, you might need to edit the named.conf file.

    If you do a search for rndc in the forums, you'll see that lots of people have had and fixed this problem before.
     
  7. Shuttle

    Shuttle Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    rh9 has rndc-key instead of rndckey in named.conf, just remove the dash

    edit /etc/named.conf
    find all instances of rndc-key and change to rndckey

    Then restart bind.
     
Loading...

Share This Page