The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS-Only -- Adding a new server to existing cluster. How to get all zonefiles copied over?

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by electric, Jun 26, 2014.

  1. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hello,

    We have four DNS-Only nameservers, and we need to replace one of them. (IP is being changed.)

    All our web servers have a "synchronize" relationship to each DNS-Only nameserver. Each DNS-Only nameserver has a "standalone" relationship to each web server.

    Now we are building the new DNS-Only nameserver and have added it already to each of the web servers.

    How do we get all the zonefiles that are on the other DNS-Only nameservers to the new DNS-Only nameserver?

    In other words, how do we "populate" our new DNS-Only nameserver with all the zonefiles from all our web servers?

    Thanks!
     
    #1 electric, Jun 26, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2014
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,811
    Likes Received:
    671
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    If you have linked the new DNS-Only server to the hosting servers, and configured the role to synchronize changes, then the zones should already be synced to the new DNS-Only server. If not, then you can simply sync the zones to that DNS-Only server via:

    "WHM Home » DNS Functions » Synchronize DNS Records"

    You can use the "Synchronize all zones to all servers" option.

    Thank you.
     
  3. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Yes, we have already created the new DNS-Only nameserver, and it is added to the cluster in all the web servers with the role of "Synchronize Changes". However, when I look in the "/var/named/" folder on the new DNS-Only nameserver, it is empty.

    (I think this is as expected, right? It shouldn't have any zonefiles yet, unless a customer has edited their dns since the new nameserver was added to their server. Please correct me if I am not understanding.)

    Should we enable the "Synchronize zones that are not configured on this server" option? Otherwise, will it only synchronize the zonefiles that are on that particular web server?

    ie: We have a dozen web servers, all connected to four DNS-Only nameservers... one of which has no zonefiles. So now we need to populate the new nameserver with ALL zonefiles from the dozen web servers. Should I run the above synchronize on each web server? Or is it sufficient to run it from only one of them, and it will magically figure out and sync *all* zonefiles, regardless of what web server the domain is on?

    Thanks!

    -- Also, we have a lot of zone files (about 25k across the dozen web servers). I think maybe I should run this via command line? Do you know what is the proper command line to do the required sync?

    Thanks again!
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,811
    Likes Received:
    671
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you prefer to use the command line, then you can utilize the following command:

    Code:
    /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/dnscluster syncall --full
    You could run this command on each hosting server if necessary.

    Thank you.
     
  5. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    If necessary? I have no idea... that's why I'm here asking you. :)

    If I run this command on webserver1, will it synchronize *all* zones from *all* webservers connected to the cluster of four DNS-Only nameservers?

    Or do I need to also run the same command on webserver2, and webserver3, and webserver4, and webserver5, etc?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,811
    Likes Received:
    671
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page