Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

DNS only and time out

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by upsforum, Aug 14, 2015.

  1. upsforum

    upsforum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    I have 2 server with cpanel dns only but with any domains in cluster dns lookup return time out, for example mxtoolbox.com return:

    Lookup failed after 2 name servers timed out or responded non-authoritatively

    I wathced log with this command:

    # tcpdump port 53 and '(tcp-syn|tcp-ack)!=0' | grep "appet"

    and I see that it work with most domains


    12:12:03.058258 IP pws3.mxtoolbox.com.51541 > HOSTNAME.DNS1.NET.domain: 1957 A? TESTDOMAIN.COM. (24)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,802
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    Do you have any firewall rules configured on these systems that could be filtering out traffic? Do you notice any error messages when restarting the Named service?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. upsforum

    upsforum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    named not return errors, I need to check iptables?

    I verified that with http://www.intodns.com/appetitoo.com the name servers return old ip address (for any domains), I changed the ip of two server dns 3 week ago

    It could be a problem of serial number?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #3 upsforum, Aug 14, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 17, 2015
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,802
    Likes Received:
    1,896
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You will need to ensure the name server IP addresses are updated at the domain registrar, not just with the "A" records on the cPanel server.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice