The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS Only clustering questions

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by designmania, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. designmania

    designmania Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,
    I recently installed DNS Only to one of my server and would like to cluster the other two web servers (w/WHM installed). I am hoping someone can provide me some feedback cause I don't know where to start. I try to search the instructure, but couldn't find any.

    Below is the simple diagram of my current servers structure.

    Code:
              +----------+
              |    dns   |
              +----------+
                  |
           +------+------+
           |             |
    +---------+      +---------+
    |   whm1  |      |  whm2   |
    +---------+      +---------+
    
    I have my main company website hosted on whm1 together with my clients' websites. Most of my clients' websites are using ns1.mysite.com and ns2.mysite.com as their nameservers. My plan is to move out my main company website to whm2 and keep ns1 and ns2 (IP will be changed). So, my clients don't need to change their nameserver records.

    I got someone's suggestion to use DNS Only in order to fulfill what I try to implement. I have DNS Only installed on dns, but now I am confused.

    My questions are:

    1. Should I cluster all the servers first before I move out my company site or after?

    2. After I move out my company website from whm1 to whm2, should I delete it (the entire site and the DNS Zone) from whm1?

    3. I am using mysite.NET as my hostname for each server, not mysite.COM. Does this matter?

    4. Should I use ns1.mysite.com and ns2.mysite.com under dns server basic cpanel & whm setup?

    5. Can DNS Only server be used as nameserver for only one domain or multiple domains? I have two domains and will be using clustering. Do I need to setup another DNS Only for another domain?

    Sorry for so many questions. I never think about to expand the server so here comes the problems ... :(

    Thanks so much for your help!!!
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Until someone comes by with a better answer, searching these forums for:

    DNS howto

    Does yield multiple threads on this topic that you may find useful.

    HTH!
     
  3. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    1. Should I cluster all the servers first before I move out my company site or after?

    I would say you should cluster all the servers whm1 and whm2 to the dns only machine in synchronize role and then on the dns only machine have whm1 and whm2 as standalone

    2. After I move out my company website from whm1 to whm2, should I delete it (the entire site and the DNS Zone) from whm1?

    I would move the sites using our transfer scripts that will put new zones on the new machine. Since they are clustered, the zone will be on the dns only machine and change to the new machine anyway. There is no reason to delete the site on the old machine until you've reached a point that you are certain that site is working properly. If you do delete the sites on the old machine, do it after you uncluster the old machine because you cannot delete the zone (it is on dns only so it would have updated to the new server whm2 already, if you delete it, you delete the existing DNS zone).

    3. I am using mysite.NET as my hostname for each server, not mysite.COM. Does this matter?

    Your hostname doesn't matter so long as it resolves / functions.

    4. Should I use ns1.mysite.com and ns2.mysite.com under dns server basic cpanel & whm setup?

    You can use whatever nameserver names you prefer, but normally ns1 and ns2 are the standard labels for nameservers.

    5. Can DNS Only server be used as nameserver for only one domain or multiple domains? I have two domains and will be using clustering. Do I need to setup another DNS Only for another domain?

    You can have around 8-10,000 domains on a DNS only machine at the maximum. I wouldn't recommend going over 6,000 domains personally. Basically, yes, you can have multiple domains on a dns only machine due to the fact it manages DNS zones.
     
  4. designmania

    designmania Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Tristan, thanks for the detailed explanation. One more question for you.

    Once I move my company site to the new server - whm1, I will be assigned with new IPs for ns1 and ns2. Is there any extra steps that I have to pay attention? Or, as long as I have the same nameserver (ns1 and ns2), I don't need to worry about the IP change for the main site?

    Thanks!
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Remember to update the "A" records for NS1 and NS2 in their DNS Zones on the local server to ensure they match the new IP addresses set at the domain registrar. As long as the name servers point to the new server, the new IP address assigned to the accounts will already be configured in the Apache configuration file and DNS Zones.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page