The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS ONLY configure cluster error

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by kship, Jul 21, 2007.

  1. kship

    kship Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    HUNTSVILLE, TEXAS
    The DNS only box is running:

    WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.8.2-DNS74
    CentOS 4.5 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0

    It is a VPS. When I click configure cluster it returns a blank page. Cgi problem? Anyone had this issue?

    vps powered by xen

    Thanks,
    ken
     
  2. JonathanLIVE

    JonathanLIVE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have the same problem.. I have been going all over forums trying to find a solution but found nothing this far.
     
  3. mgphoto

    mgphoto Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ditto here. Just did a reinstall and still have the same issue. Anyone? CentOS 4.5.
     
  4. JonathanLIVE

    JonathanLIVE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I got the solution

    Stop using DNS-Only standard version. You need to upgrade it to Beta.. then everything works. :)

    Go to here for how to update to Beta DNSONLY

    http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=68058

    You finally get all the features you need/want and everything actually works. :)

    Good luck!
     
  5. JonathanLIVE

    JonathanLIVE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Actually... you guys should just give up on DNSOnly.. it does NOT work with current version of CPanel... even after the upgrade to Beta.. I could see the servers.... finally.. but nothing will sync.. even after it says it did.

    I have tried everything possible to get it working under centos4.5 from upgrading the beta, to downgrading, to reinstalling bind to even comparing rndc to current versions... I could not get it to sync copies of DNS records from servers no matter what... DNSOnly is defunk.
     
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    There will be an updated version of cPanel DNS Only available after cPanel 11 reaches STABLE. Maybe not immediately after, but these issues are on our proverbial radar.
     
  7. rpage

    rpage Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    When will cPanel 11 reach Stable status. It was recommended to me to upgrade to 11 to take care of some issues. now my secondary dns server with dnsonly doesn't work.
    Rick

    PS. In order to manually sync the primary to my secondary server, do I copy the domainname.com.db files from the primary to the secondary, and copy the domain information for each domain name from the named.conf file to the one on the secondary?
     
  8. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The latest target dates for the release of cPanel 11 into various builds as well as cPanel 11 Stage 2 can be found at:

    http://www.cPanel.net/cpanel11
     
  9. ToddShipway

    ToddShipway Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I don't recommend running DNS-ONLY beta as it has a bug that prevents it from syncing with other servers properly.

    I recommend checking /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log for any issues, be sure your using perl 5.8.7 or later and run /usr/local/cpanel/bin/checkperlmodules to ensure you have all the needed perl modules installed. Blank pages are usually caused by a missing perl modules.
     
  10. carlosbss

    carlosbss Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Any news on running cPanel DNS Only?

    Is it working with cPanel 11?

    Is it a solution or a problem at this moment?

    Thank you

    Regards,
     
  11. ToddShipway

    ToddShipway Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    It does work with cPanel 11, however it can take a little TLC to get 100% functional. Make sure all perl modules are installed. Be sure SSL is working good on DNS-Only and configure the cluster from scratch on both WHM and DNS-Only.
     
  12. carlosbss

    carlosbss Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi Todd,

    Thank you for your reply. Is there any document outlying the necessary steps for a default installation somewhere?

    We will be using some VPS's we have on a couple of servers to run 2 dns servers, one in the states, another in england. Then all our cpanel servers will update to those 2 dns vps servers.

    Now for my questions:

    cPanel DNS Only is the right product for this?

    What specs should the VPS have to handle this? We are talking some 500 domains (growing) and about 8 to 10 cpanel servers. Will 128Mb VPS be ok?

    Your help is highly appreciated

    Regards,
     
  13. ToddShipway

    ToddShipway Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX

    DNS-Only seems like the right thing to use for your situation.

    128 would probably be ok, but I recommend a little bigger to be safe, maybe 256 or so.

    You can download the installer at http://layer1.cpanel.net/ When installing you may have to mess with Compress::Zlib and Archive::Tar perl modules, right now thats the biggest issue when installing dns-only and you might need to work with Net::SSLeay after it's installed to get SSL working properly.
     
  14. fairlylarge

    fairlylarge Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Just wondered if anybody could help...

    I've installed DNSONLY successfully using the patch for cPCPAN.pm and regenerated the SSL certificate to get the secure support working.

    Everything seems to work fine, I've connected the DNSONLY server to my main CPanel server and set them to sync.

    _However_, when I clicked on "Sync All" (v2) to get the records onto the DNSONLY box, the DNSONLY box exhausted it's physical memory (512MB) and then went through the entire swap memory as well! (512MB) - so to sync the records it went through 1GB of memory.

    I checked the /var/named folder and it had indeed transferred the zones (for the most part anyway), but I'm concerned that several processes crashed out due to the exhausted memory.

    Are there any patches or workarounds available for this? I've tried with and without swap with no joy.

    Thanks in advance for your time.
     
  15. ToddShipway

    ToddShipway Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    How many zones are you dealing with?
     
  16. fairlylarge

    fairlylarge Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I would say around 70 zones or so. Not much more than that.
     
  17. dclaw

    dclaw Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Escondido, CA
    connection timeouts during zone sync dnsonly

    I am getting the following errors in the cpanel error_log when I try "sync one local" for a particular zone.

    (internal error) Unable to add the zone on the remote server [*.*.*.119] (Connection Timed Out)
    (internal error) Unable to get the zone from the remote server [*.*.*.119] (Connection Timed Out)
    (internal error) Unable to save the zone on the remote server [*.*.*.119] (Connection Timed Out)
    (internal error) Unable to reload bind on the remote server [*.*.*.119] (Connection Timed Out)

    Additionally, if I do "sync all local" I get these additional errors:

    (internal error) Unable to get the zone list from the remote server [*.*.*.119] (Connection Timed Out)
    (internal error) Unable to add the zone this.domain.com on the remote server [*.*.*.119] (Connection Timed Out)


    Anyone have any idea what the deal is? There is of course full connectivity between the servers. And I was able to add them to the cluster with no issues.

    I am pretty sure I have fixed all of the perl problems, as I have manually installed all perl modules that it had been complaining about in the error log before.

    Just FYI, .119 is our main dns server and contains about 2800+ zones. After fixing the perl issues, I was able to sync all zones to this server from .119. These errors are showing up now after I upgraded to dns-only beta. Which I installed because I was receiving errors about it not being able to write the zone to the directory before, even though it properly synced all 2800+ zones, it would spit out errors during single zone updates such as with "sync one local" or during cpanel generated syncs, such as when an account ip or such was updated. And, as far as I could tell, it was not a permissions issue, because "sync all local" wrote to the directory just fine.

    Any help or suggestions are greatly appreciated. TIA

    Thanks,
    Mike
     
  18. HostNine.Com

    HostNine.Com Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Having the same exact problem.. it would be nice if cPanel could just fix this issue as DNSONLY has been a nightmare since day 1
     
  19. HostNine.Com

    HostNine.Com Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Houston, TX
  20. HostNine.Com

    HostNine.Com Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Nevermind... same problem
     
Loading...

Share This Page