The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS-only cpanel server problem

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by gundamz, Sep 29, 2005.

  1. gundamz

    gundamz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi all,

    I had bought a small server and plan to use it to DNS purpose. I manage to setup the server installing cpanel DNS-only package.

    on the server, port 53, 2086, 953 are open for DNS & whm purpose.

    One of my test nameserver called it ns0.domain.com is set to point to this server.

    ns0.domain.com is set as 1.2.3.4.5.6
    1.2.3.4.5.6 is the server ip.

    I had setup the master server to sync zone records and the .db files to this dns server every few mintues.

    Here, i tested using one domain (xyz.com)

    Somehow, after 24 hours, xyz.com still doesn't load up...

    I had no ideas why this setup doesn't work as what i did before for another cpanel server(not DNS-only version) i had...

    Maybe i had miss out something.

    I can't figure what i am doing wrong...

    Any tech had handle this before, can enlighten me on this?
    Thanks.
     
  2. ramprage

    ramprage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    Did you query your domain at dnsreport.com ?
     
  3. gundamz

    gundamz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi ramprage,

    yup. i tested with DNSreport.com . it say it did not return a positive result.

    weird thing is, i had omit the version and yet dnsreport report i am using 9.2.4 .
    could it be that i am updating the wrong named.conf ?

    /etc/named.conf should be the correct one... how come dnsreport.com report the version of my bind(which i had omit in the named.conf)
     
  4. gundamz

    gundamz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ok..

    Ok. an update. i had installed bind rpm before i went to install cpanel DNS package.. so i think this is the problem.

    Now, i had uninstall bind rpm... and reinstall cpanel dns package..

    Everything look good. However, doing "service named status" show,
    rndc: connect failed: connection refused


    I have no ideas why this happen. Is there anyway that i can clean up or force reinstall cpanel DNS package?

    Here's the log:

    Sep 29 14:09:44.397 starting BIND 9.2.4 -u named -t /var/named/chroot -g
    Sep 29 14:09:44.397 using 1 CPU
    Sep 29 14:09:44.403 loading configuration from '/etc/named.conf'
    Sep 29 14:09:44.405 listening on IPv4 interface lo, 127.0.0.1#53
    Sep 29 14:09:44.406 listening on IPv4 interface eth0, 154.37.3.50#53
    Sep 29 14:09:44.411 command channel listening on 127.0.0.1#953
    Sep 29 14:09:44.411 could not open entropy source /dev/random: file not found
    Sep 29 14:09:44.411 ignoring config file logging statement due to -g option
    Sep 29 14:09:44.412 couldn't open pid file '/var/run/named/named.pid': No such file or directory
    Sep 29 14:09:44.412 exiting (due to early fatal error)
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You should be able to do it by removing all bind rpms and then run /scripts/sysup
     
  6. gundamz

    gundamz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hmm.. i had fix the problem by running the script provided by cpanel.. :P what a mess ..
     
  7. ramprage

    ramprage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    rndc: connect failed: connection refused

    /scripts/fixndc usually solves this.
     
Loading...

Share This Page