The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS Only Installer

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by BobFarkle, Apr 4, 2006.

  1. BobFarkle

    BobFarkle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have searched a bit but not found an a resolution. If there is one, please point me to it.

    I have downloaded and installed the DNS only version of CPanel in the past without a problem, but when my clustered machine died, I had to reinstall and have had no success.

    For the last two months I have been downloading the Cpanel Only installer from layer1.cpanel.net and running it on a variety of machines and linux distributions including various versions of Red Had and CentOS. Every single one of them locks RealPerlInstaller at 99% CPU power and continually prints ....... across the screen. If I kill the installer, the rest of it loads, but then it doesn't function. Why is the RealPerlInstaller getting caught?

    Thank you.
     
  2. Murtaza_t

    Murtaza_t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    What is the version of perl on your machine? did you try upgrading it?
    It should be 5.8.7, cPanel will have many issues if you dont have your perl to the mark.
     
  3. BobFarkle

    BobFarkle Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yeah. I have tried upgrading Perl manually, but it makes no difference.

    Before Manual update 5.8.4 - After manu Perl Update 5.8.7

    When installing Cpanel / Dns ONLY in the past, I have never had to manually update perl before. On the 9 Cpanel Systems that I currently run, they have all installed the full version fine and updated their own perl versions just fine. I think the DNS only installation script is broken somewhere. Perhaps a dependency got updated and the script didn't. I have tried installing it on dedicated hardware with CentOS 3, 4, Fedora Core X. I have tried installing in CentOS 4.x brand new VE s on Virtuozzo and all of them get stuck on RealPerlInstall and continually print ........ on the screen line after line.

    I had luck installing the DNS only version a few years ago (we run one offsite DNS only installation for our cluster), but that machine died and we have been unable to reinstall it.

    :)
     
  4. dcorreia

    dcorreia Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm having same problem as we speak trying to install dns only


    For process /usr/bin/perl /scripts/realperlinstaller Net::AIM Net::SSLeay Archive::Tar GD::Graph Tree::MultiNode Tie::I (PID 11214)

    Running at 100% and I've tried to leave it for hours! :mad:

    OS: CentOS 4.3
     
    #4 dcorreia, Apr 6, 2006
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2006
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I'd suggest doing a strace on the process and find out what it is doing. Do make sure that you have a valid DNS resolver in /etc/resolv.conf so that the script is able to resolve the cpan mirror hostnames. Also, do check that there's no iptables firewall setup at this stage.
     
  6. dcorreia

    dcorreia Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I found the loop, its hitting enter or something when its showing, pick a continent.
     
  7. dcorreia

    dcorreia Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    system call parameters

    ioctl 0, SNDCTL_TMR_TIMEBASE,or,TCGETS,0xbfe884c8
    write 1,Select your continent (or severa
    write 1,\n
    write 1,\n
    write 1,(1) Africa\n
    write 1,(2) Asia\n
    write 1,(3) Central America\n
    write 1,(4) Europe\n
    write 1,(5) North America\n
    write 1,(6) Oceania\n


    etc etc it goes in a super fast loop


    also found out if i run it directly

    Sorry, we have to rerun the configuration dialog for CPAN.pm due to
    the following indispensable but missing parameters:

    mbuild_arg, mbuild_install_arg, mbuild_install_build_command, mbuildpl_arg

    /usr/lib/perl5/5.8.5/CPAN/Config.pm initialized.
     
    #7 dcorreia, Apr 7, 2006
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2006
Loading...

Share This Page