The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dns only on new vps

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by jimmy1987, Mar 2, 2008.

  1. jimmy1987

    jimmy1987 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    As i want to run my own nameservers i needed a second one, i'm running cpanel + whm on my main server but now i was looking for a second vps server to just run cpanel dns only on and further nothing. Now i've come across the following site.

    www.rapidvps.com

    Is there first package the one of 9,99 enough to run cpanel dns only on ?
    As i'm only going to use it for dns only i don't want a 40 dollar server.
     
  2. nerdzoll

    nerdzoll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Heya,
    Because I am rather bored at the moment, I just purchased one of their 9.99 VPSs, and to answer your question... so far seems to work just peachy. Will have to wait and see once the Name Server re-resolves.
    Stuart
     
  3. viraj

    viraj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Hi Jimmy,

    You can run the secondary name server from the same server too. Just add an additional IP & setup the other name server to point to that IP. ie: ns1.xxxx.com points to your main IP, make ns2.xxxx.com point to your other IP. That would work without any problems. :) If you want to run a secondary name server from a different VPS, try searching for any of these terms in google.com : "cheapest+reliable+quality+linux+vps+uk+us" or try http://www.host.co.in [24x7x365] quality support.
     
  4. jimmy1987

    jimmy1987 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Well i took a server at vT16 hosting
    www.vt16.com

    There support is awesome to say the least.
    He knew exactly what i meant and needed and he's far from expensive.
     
  5. Shiboning

    Shiboning Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am also trying to find a solution for remote secondary DNS server. I am about to sign up with dynDNS.com. It's $17.50 / year.

    I am wondering what's the logic for running this secondary DNS by yourself. I might hold my decision while waiting for your answer.

    By having a VPS DNS server, can you also make this serve as a backup MX? That would make it worth considering.

    Peace!

    Sam
     
    #5 Shiboning, Mar 19, 2008
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2008
  6. jimmy1987

    jimmy1987 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Well i'm just a person who wants to keep control over his things ;)
    Sure i could go with dyndns, but now i got it under my own control.
    At your second question i would say yes, but don't ask me how as i haven't done that as i'm running my backup MX on another cluster server.
     
Loading...

Share This Page