The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DNS Only

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by DN-Paul, Mar 2, 2007.

  1. DN-Paul

    DN-Paul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Has anyone managed to get dns-only cpanel working?
    I have tried on 4 boxes now; one had an issue with stunnel which is now fixed but uses 100% cpu when syncing zones and stays like that until it falls over, another simply refuses to cluster with any other server, and the other two have a screwed up named which refuses to start.

    If anyone has managed to get it working, what is your secret?
     
  2. DN-Paul

    DN-Paul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ok... so the two with screwed up bind are now fixed-ish.

    Bind starts fine, I can get them to cluster with another server, however, when I update a dns zone on the master, it doesn't update the slaves (the dns-only servers), and doesn't produce any errors in the error_log...

    Suggestions?

    Output in whm when editing a zone:
    Usually it should say:
     
  3. r4f4lek

    r4f4lek Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hey, same problem here.

    Bind working.
    Clustering working.

    But no zones in named.conf.

    When i manually add zone to named.conf then it's ok.

    Any idea ?
     
  4. DN-Paul

    DN-Paul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I gave up in the end, installed tinyDNS on the slaves and set them to sync records from the master.
     
  5. r4f4lek

    r4f4lek Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    TinyDNS working with cpanel ?
     
  6. DN-Paul

    DN-Paul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    In a sense yes, there's no cpanel on the secondary dns servers anymore, just tiny dns and lighttpd. Tiny dns checks the records on the master dns server (a cpanel box) every 30mins and updates its zones accordingly.
     
  7. r4f4lek

    r4f4lek Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ouuu :)

    Nice job.
    I will check this.

    thx
     
  8. web12

    web12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ive noticed this as of recently also, but the zone appears to be updated across all the servers in the cluster correctly.

    One other thing I have noticed is that DNS modifications are taking an age to go through since this started happening.

    Is there an actual problem with DNS clustering we should all be aware of at the moment, or is this all part of the improvement?
     
Loading...

Share This Page